Asian Lettuce Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Such a good basic recipe for wraps! I made the following modifications and it turned out great: used ground turkey instead of pork, used water chestnuts in place of tofu (per someone else's review) because my husband isn't a huge fan of tofu, used peanut oil instead of sesame (because I didn't have any), and used Tabasco in place of hot chili paste (I didn't have that either). We also used romaine lettuce instead of iceberg. It was a hit with my husband and my 2 year old daughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This was pretty good. I thought it was a little salty, but the hubs thought it was just fine. I tweaked the recipe this way- I had left over roasted chicken, so I used my food grinder to grind up the chicken, then I did double the hoisan sauce and soy sauce. That is where my saltiness could of come from, so next time I would use lower sodium soy sauce. I also added brown rice instead of white and put it in with garlic, ginger and onions, with the chicken. Added fresh bean sprouts, which gave us the crunch, that it really needed and then I used butter lettuce in place of the ice berg,which I think makes for a much nicer leaf and very sturdy for rolling, and nice flavor. It does resemble PF Changs lettuce rolls, and definitely will do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Made chicken for my family and all tofu for me, the recipe was delicious! Used reduced sodium soy for my dad and everyone still loved it. Want to try it with mushrooms and water chestnuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Yuck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melyni27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Great flavor. Easy. I did not have soy so I used tempura sauce. I omitted the chili paste and my husband and I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I have always had chopped water chestnuts in my lettuce wraps, so I added then and they were a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Great dish - hit of the party. But I made some changes based on other reviewers comments; Skipped the Tofu, added Sweet Chili Sauce, added waterchestnuts & shredded carrots (good for color & texture), topped each serving with sesame seeds. I made it as an appetizer using endive and no rice. I also served it as a main dish using nappa cabbage instead of lettuce because it holds together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I used tofurkey sausage in place of the ground pork, leeks instead of the green onions, additional soy (shoyu) and added sriracha to serve. I ended up using a fork and eating like a salad because the filling was so good and the red lettuce leaves I had on hand were on the small side. The sauce was fantastic, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
We used leftover baked chicken and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
3.5 stars. Get big lettuce leaves for wrapping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States