Asian Lettuce Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I did not use rice. I wanted to cut the calories, I also made my own hoison sauce, using sugar free syrup and spices and red wine vinegar. I also used turkey instead of pork. My had about 405 calories a serving. I also did not use the tofu..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ramona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Yum-o! I made these for a girls night in and there was nothing left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsTNM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Great way to use leftover pork from a tenderloin. Chopped it small and also added onions, celery, peppers and mushroom to the stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I made a few changes... I hate it when people do that here and then say they didn't like it or it was perfect but they made a different recipe than the one posted... so with that caveat- I made it with chicken and used zucchini instead of tofu... but like tofu, the zucchini soaked up all the sauce flavors and was wonderful. I also didn't have hoisin sauce so I used half the amount of miso paste. I know - very different - but I really liked it! The only time the wraps didn't have enough flavor was when I used too much rice on the lettuce; the proportions of the meat to rice need to be right. But the Flavor is there! :) thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klfelt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
This is by far the BEST lettuce wrap recipe I have found. I have made this exactly as written and I have changed it up by adding our own preferences. We love adding water chestnuts, mushrooms, peanuts, ginger and using cabbage in place of lettuce. This recipe is so versatile and each version we make is so good! I have been asked for the recipe many times. So good and very, very addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
These were great! Only modifications for next time would be to cut the rice in half, quickly sautee the tofu so it gets a crust and maybe double the sauce. Couldnt find chili paste, so garlic chili sauce was a recommended substitution online. I at least tripled this part and would even double that for some good solid heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sneezy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I accidentally bought a ground pork/ beef mixture but it still turned out great. All of my men (3 teens and a hubby) loved it. Keeping this one on file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Great and messy - I added shrimp to make it more low-calorie and 1 tbls. of peanut butter. I deleted the tofu ---- wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Such a good basic recipe for wraps! I made the following modifications and it turned out great: used ground turkey instead of pork, used water chestnuts in place of tofu (per someone else's review) because my husband isn't a huge fan of tofu, used peanut oil instead of sesame (because I didn't have any), and used Tabasco in place of hot chili paste (I didn't have that either). We also used romaine lettuce instead of iceberg. It was a hit with my husband and my 2 year old daughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This was pretty good. I thought it was a little salty, but the hubs thought it was just fine. I tweaked the recipe this way- I had left over roasted chicken, so I used my food grinder to grind up the chicken, then I did double the hoisan sauce and soy sauce. That is where my saltiness could of come from, so next time I would use lower sodium soy sauce. I also added brown rice instead of white and put it in with garlic, ginger and onions, with the chicken. Added fresh bean sprouts, which gave us the crunch, that it really needed and then I used butter lettuce in place of the ice berg,which I think makes for a much nicer leaf and very sturdy for rolling, and nice flavor. It does resemble PF Changs lettuce rolls, and definitely will do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States