Asian-Inspired Mustard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Mirin isn't vinegar but sweetened rice wine. We just had standard rice vinegar in the pantry and used that. Tasted fine: one of the two vegetable non-enthusiasts in the household had seconds. I'll probably try ginger next time around. If you post any more recipes, trepto, I'd like to know. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
The very best recipe for greens I've ever tried. I made black mustard greens from our farmer's market as a side dish tonight with a shrimp fried rice main. This recipe is wonderful. I would note, though, that Mirin is sweetened rice wine, not rice wine vinegar. I did use it (rather than rice vinegar) and we liked the mellow smoothness it added. Using regular rice wine vinegar would result is something more tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I added some sliced green onion,too. I would recommend tripling the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This was actually really good. My M-greens were starting to bolt, so I cut some back and decided to try something new. This dish was a Home run! I was a little worried as I was making it, but in the end it turned out just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
ok - just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I'm trying to expand my "like" list of vegetables beyond spinach, pickles, and green beans. This was a success! If you need more kick, add more garlic - I added an extra teaspoon. I will use this recipe again with mustard greens, but I think it would also be great with kale, collards, and other greens. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I'm usually not a fan of mustard greens because of the bitterness, but this is how I always fix them now. Great recipe! My 1 year-old really likes them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Our supermarket didn't have mustard greens, so I made this with collards, instead. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This a great recipe. I used wild mustard from the nearby orange groves so it was fairly hot. Doubling the sugar helped. This recipe would probably be awesome with mild mustard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaJoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
My husband who loves all vegetables enjoyed this recipe. I'm a veggie hater trying to convert to veggies lover. This was too slimy for me. I thought the beans might help it, but no.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States