Asian Glazed Chicken Thighs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by westcoastmom
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Like others, I thought there was way too much sesame oil so I only added a few drops. I decided to marinate this longer so I left out the vinegar and marinated for a few hours. I scored the chicken thighs with a knife to let the marinade seep in. I added the vinegar when I made the sauce on the stove, and cooked the marinade from the chicken as well. I used far less chili oil as my kids were eating this, so we just served it with hot sauce on the side for us adults! My husband and I loved it, my picky kids not so much but they ate most of it! ;) I think next time I'll add a bit of ginger since I left out most of the chili oil, to make even more delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
this was really tasty.. we marinated this for about 1 1/2 to 2 hours and i think it would have been a lot better for even longer.. i cut this recipe in half and used three very large chicken thighs that could have passed for breasts.. i left out the honey and added a heaping tablespoon of chopped ginger.. i cut the sesame oil in half as others suggested.. i had bf grill these outside on the george foreman as i didn't want the oven heating up the house and i didn't feel like cooking this in the wok.. i boiled the excess marinade and used it to steam/sautee some veggies.. served with some rice and had a complete meal.. i told bf i think this would have gone better with some ramen noodles or some other kind of asian noodle.. he agreed.. i can't wait to try this again with a longer marinating time.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
very good, next time I will add ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Indy-Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
It tasted good but I was disappointed because it didn't look like the picture with a beautiful glaze. The chicken looked like any other bland baked chicken with soft skin so I broiled it for a few minutes after baking to give it some crispness on the outside. If you want to have the picture look you have to add a slurry of water and cornstarch to get the sauce thicker when boiling it. Marinating is a must in this recipe to get the favors into the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
we love this at our house. we broil it b/c we don't own a grill at this time. sometimes we adjust the honey, sweet chili, and garlic to suit our tastes, but other than that, we pretty much stick to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I reduced the garlic chili sauce for the sake of my children and there were no left overs !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Fabulous. I did not change anything. Delicious. Easy. Flavorful. Might try this with shrimp as well. Making it again tonight. And the leftovers were awesome as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MarilyntheBee
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I used bone-in chicken thighs and substituted the rice vinegar for cider vinegar (I didn't have rice vinegar). I also added a pinch of black pepper and corn starch to the mix while it boiled to thicken it up a bit. The chicken was very tender and juicy. I would have preferred the skin to be crispy, however. My husband and friend loved it, so I will be making this dish again. Perhaps next time I'll do less vinegar, as I found 1/2 cup to be too much for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Nice outcome for little work, definitely a "keeper". Made twice now, with changes due to comments, pantry and a 1st try. It's very easy to tweak the spice level for your own heat tolerance. We (a hot family) didn't think it was hot. IMO, the most critical change is to marinate longer if you can; 1 hour didn't do much, but 4+ is great. We don't like a lot of oil, so I reduced that to 2 TBSP, and I didn't have sesame oil so I used 1 TBSP sesame seeds the first time (okay), and tahini the second (really good). I did need to add some flour to thicken the sauce to my liking. I added clementine orange sections to the garnish the 2nd time which I'll do again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Made this last minute because I got started too late on smoked chicken. Whipped the marinade together and used a vacuum sealer to get it ready sooner. Used 2 instead of 3 tbsp of chili garlic sauce since the kids don't like spicy. I used 1/4 cup of oil instead of 1/3 since my sesame oil is very strong. Turned out wonderful-- will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmartinek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Asian Grilled Chicken

See how to make a quick-and-easy marinade for tender grilled chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States