Asian Flair Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Where are the other ratings? Well, since I enjoyed the other recipe for steak by this cook, I decided to give this one a shot. I made one adjustment, because I was always told that sesame oil was for only adding flavor, not actually cooking in it..I used olive oil in place. Again, another recipe that will DEFINITELY be a keeper in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This was very good. My husband ate two plates full! I used a variety of vegetables. I used the sesame oil to cook the steak in. I was concerned it would be to strong, but it wasn't. It had a great taste. I made a salad with asian dressing (recipe was from Pampered Chef)to go along with it. Next time I'm going to make sesame noodles, found it while I was looking for side dishes to go with the steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This makes a delicious steak for salad greens like mentioned. I used this on top of a typical asian inspired salad with mandarin oranges, broken up ramen noodles, red peppers and mushrooms. Wonderful marinade, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Lash

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I didn't have flat iron, but cut up stew meat, which worked just as well. Also, used olive oil to cook it in as suggested by another comment. Served this over brown rice and it was delicious. And quick! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Catonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Very delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I've made several versions of Asian marinades & this by far is the best combination. Easy to make & the flavors blended well. I only marinaded for 8 hours & it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nana2elise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I marinated overnight and did not get a really strong flavor from the marinade. It was good, but that's a lot of ingredients to not have a prominent flavor. The best piece I had was when I put a couple leftover pieces in the fridge, so this might be really good in a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This has a wonderful flavor. Flat Iron steaks used to be quite affordable but they have become quite popular and now can be pricey. I use a top sirloin steak instead. I let this marinate for 24 hours. The recipe calls for frying in sesame oil but I don't think the author meant toasted sesame oil. If you don't have regular (clear) sesame oil I would recommend putting a dash of toasted sesame oil in the marinade and using peanut of grape seed oil for frying. Sliced thinly against the grain of the meat, served with white rice and the peppers. I would use this same marinade for steaks and grill them. Thanks for a great recipe - I am glad I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
The flavor was pretty good, but I'm not sure it would be my first choice for steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
My girlfriend and I love this recipe; works on all types of meats as well, not just the flat-iron steaks. Also, the marinade time is nice, but not needed; simply marinating for an hour or two is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Skirt Steak with Asian BBQ Sauce

See how easy it is to make your own Asian-inspired BBQ sauce.

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

See how to grill a thin, inexpensive cut of beef for salads, sandwiches, & tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States