Asian Fire Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
We made this last night and loved it. Used london broil and sliced it partially frozen on the meat slicer so as to get those paper thin slices. Didn't have leeks but don't know as they would've added anything. As suggested, we rolled each one up in a red lettuce leaf, along with about a tablespoon or so of rice that had been cooked with chicken broth and asian seasonings. Using the lettuce made it very refreshing. Although the beef was tender having been sliced so thin, it may benefit from adding a tablespoon of water and 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda to the marinade. This will give you beef that'll melt in your mouth! As for the heat, I thought it'd be too much, but after cooking it really mellowed and even my low-heat tolerant husband agreed that it could be bumped up a bit. All in all, great. Easy, quick cooking, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Seidel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
Not as hot as it sounds! My family loved it.Easy make ahead meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
Wow, this was GREAT! I left out the leeks, adjusted the red pepper flakes a little so my kids would eat it, and drained the meat mixture before "stir-frying". I then added the drained marinade with a little cornstarch at the end and brought sauce to a boil with meat and veggies. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
This recipe is great! We rolled the meat up with some cooked white rice in lettuce leaves like little "burritos". Also turned up the heat a bit with 1/2 of a minced habanero chile, but my family like things really hot. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
Excellent! I substituted finely chopped ginger for the pepper flakes. This recipe is also great using chicken and teriyaki sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
Excellent! Didn't add the leeks, didn't miss them. Boy this was a yummy dish. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
Really easy recipe! I added a little bit of fresh ginger which turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
This is a great, easy recipe. Perfect when you have a busy day coming up. You can add all kinds of things. I've added ginger, shallots, cabbage, bean sprouts, bamboo shoots, celery and toasted sesame seeds. A tip about sesame seeds. You can buy them at a middle eastern market in your city and get about 6 oz. for $1.29 compared to $3.29 for 2 oz. at the supermarket. If I have a lot of veggies in it, I double the marinade and thicken with a cornstarch slurry at the end of cooking. My husband LOVES this dinner and I love making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by good cooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
Wow! I whipped this together for a party to serve 16! It was easy, quick and the rave of the party! FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
very easy to make & Very tasty!!!! I add extra red pepper flakes to make it hotter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCJHARVEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fox Lake, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States