Asian Fire Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This is a great - and flexible recipe; it's a regular on my menu. I up the red pepper by a 1/2 tsp, leave out the leeks, double the carrots, and add a handful of fresh, ice-cold sugar snap peas during the last 3 minutes - or else I serve them on the side, as a balance for the heat. They really enhance the experience. I also use a lean roast for the meat, as this seems to come out more tender and flavorful. I also splash in some sesame oil when I cook the rice - adds a complex, smoky essence to the overall dish. To cut down on empty carbs, I sometimes serve this with slightly undercooked cabbage; the sweetness of the unsalted cabbage counters the soy and spice. Just wrap a small amount in a cabbage leaf and feast! An excellent meal, and easily expandable for more guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canis Canon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This recipe was ok. The smell of the marinade was heavenly, but the taste really wasn't all there. I used a sirloin instead of the round steak. Marinated it for only an hour and a half, and used crushed red pepper (all I had). I also added in broccoli to help w/ the saltiness that I kept reading about. And I only used one leek. It was big enough and we still didn't eat all of the veggies. It was good, but just needs something. May try it again with a tablespoon more sugar, add in some red pepper powder, and marinate for a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
The flavor was awesome. Nice & spicy with a bit of a kick. Heated up leftovers the next day & served on a bed of lettuce. Was even better this way since my rice didn't turn out so well when I originally prepared the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Too salty for us. I used low sodium soy sauce but that did not help. Thanks for letting us try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I didn't think that it was worth four stars, but that could've been my fault and I didn't want to hurt the recipe rating! I used chicken, which I do often in steak recipes, and the flavor itself was pretty good. Where I think I erred was thinking that what was left of the marinade in the pan was supposed to be a sauce! It was terribly salty! Not too much heat, though. As I said, I think that was my fault for not clicking together how much soy sauce is in the recipe with how salty it woudl be. I will try it again using the marinade as just a marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
yum! Made it as written, except left the sesame seeds until after it was cooked. Wrapped it in lettuce leaves, with a spoonful of brown rice. What a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SWEETIE79
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I was looking for a different dish to make for my husband tonight; I decided to make this recipe. I don't eat red meat, but after my husband ate this, he rated it a 4 star recipe...he loved the sauce! Thanks, and I will make again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
great recipe. this is the second time I'm making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juicy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Really, really good. I sometimes add broccoli or whatever veg on hand and call it stir fry. The marinade/sauce is so flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This was amazing! I have always known this as bulgogi. I have korean cousins who taught me how to make bulgogi and always guessed at the amount of ingredients each time but this was perfect! You took all the wory out of it for me to finally measure it all out. Though I did do just a couple things different which are also different from my own bulgogi recipe. I have never cooked with leeks or even handled them before and didnt know what to do with it when I saw it so I bought 1 each of red, yellow & orange bell peppers ( to match with the whole title of *fire* meat ) and I searched forever in walmart to find the red pepper flakes even asked someone to help me and no one could find them so I tried using crushed red pepper and sprinkled in some ground red pepper. Didnt care for the twang of the crushed and the more intense heat it packed in so hopefully when I can find the red pepper flakes it will be just right in that sense. It was a pleasant and wonderful surprise how great it was. My mother whose such a picky eater when it comes to asian food loved it instantly and told me no more take out she wants this from now on. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe!! God Bless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States