Asian Fire Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
We made this last night and loved it. Used london broil and sliced it partially frozen on the meat slicer so as to get those paper thin slices. Didn't have leeks but don't know as they would've added anything. As suggested, we rolled each one up in a red lettuce leaf, along with about a tablespoon or so of rice that had been cooked with chicken broth and asian seasonings. Using the lettuce made it very refreshing. Although the beef was tender having been sliced so thin, it may benefit from adding a tablespoon of water and 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda to the marinade. This will give you beef that'll melt in your mouth! As for the heat, I thought it'd be too much, but after cooking it really mellowed and even my low-heat tolerant husband agreed that it could be bumped up a bit. All in all, great. Easy, quick cooking, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Seidel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
Excellent! I substituted finely chopped ginger for the pepper flakes. This recipe is also great using chicken and teriyaki sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
It was good, but needs to be even spicier! Add a lot more hot pepper to the mix and be sure to let it marinate a long time. Maybe even some chili oil when cooking it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
This is FABULOUS! Wow, the flavor is incredible! I used everything except for the sesame seeds (forgot them) and I increased the crushed red pepper to a tablespoon because we like it HOT! I served wrapped with rice in lettuce leaves as suggested…A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
I found the sauce too salty. I will try it again but I'll cut down on the soy sauce and add water instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Beesley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
This recipe is great! We rolled the meat up with some cooked white rice in lettuce leaves like little "burritos". Also turned up the heat a bit with 1/2 of a minced habanero chile, but my family like things really hot. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
Wow, this was GREAT! I left out the leeks, adjusted the red pepper flakes a little so my kids would eat it, and drained the meat mixture before "stir-frying". I then added the drained marinade with a little cornstarch at the end and brought sauce to a boil with meat and veggies. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
I've used the recipe as a marinade for steaks without the leeks, carrot and onion. It's a good and easy recipe that adds a lot of flavor to a steak. It wasn't too hot, which was nice and it teams well with traditional side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
I'm a lover of Asian food, and unfortunately althought quick and easy to prepare, found this an unimaginative recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Great and easy recipe. We did not have time to marinate it for several hours but it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States