Asian Fire Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was a good base recipe, but it needed some changes to the cooking/marinating process. I know from experience that if left too long sitting in soy sauce, the meat becomes de-natured and slimy. I also didn't like the idea of all the vegetables sitting in soy sauce for hours. I marininated the meat in 1 Tblsp soy sauce, a bit of minced garlic, sesame oil, cornstarch and 1/2 tsp baking soda for about an hour. I stir fried the garlic, some ginger and the red pepper flakes in very hot peanut oil for about 30 seconds, then added the onions, leeks and carrots (which I grated) and stir fried them for 3 minutes or so. I removed the vegetables from the pan, added a bit more oil, and stir fried the meat until it started to become crispy. Then I poured the sauce to which I added some sherry, more sesame oil and 1 Tblsp cornstarch over the meat and simmered briefly until it thickened. Then I returned the vegetables to the pan and stirred them into the sauce. This came out great. I served it with leftover sesame noodles and my family liked it a lot. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This was really good. Served with thw California roll Salad from this site. I left out the carrot and leeks. I also did not have sesame seeds. You can really change the heat on this with the red pepper flakes. Thanks--We did serve over rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Very tasty and great over rice. Simple recipe that made for a different dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I am about to go down and make this for the second time. It is truly one of the most wonderful dishes I have ever made. I seemed to incorporate all of the reviewers suggestions (adding chestnuts, ginger, a bit of baking soda to tenderize, xtra carrots, cashews..plus baby corn and bean sprouts & a bit of sherry). I served over coconut jasmine rice from this site. It is just lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 25, 2007
This was really good. I made some changes, which is why I didnt rate it 5. But a good start to a good Asian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMANKAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Outstanding! This recipe is amazing! I used a flank steak and put it in the freezer for a few minutes so it would slice very very thin. I also added a little extra red pepper, about a tablespoon in all. Next I drained the meat with a slotted spoon and fried it up in batches, so it would brown, then added it all back at the end when I cooked the sauce. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy in Texas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Awesome. I mixed mine with lo mein noodles. If you use the round steak, you MUST slice paper thin, otherwise too tough. Sirloin or flank may be better, but I loved this. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Great recipe. No complaints at all. Meat was tender and veggies delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Wow! I finally made something that is hot enough for my husband!!! It was a bit to hot for me, but I could not stop eating it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States