Asian Cucumber Thai Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This was great, I had plenty of cucumbers,tomatoes, and red onion fresh from my garden so I tried this recipe. I did substitute red wine vinegar for the white distilled (I didn't have white distilled). Next time I think I may try a tablespoon or two of fish sauce also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Really great recipe and really easy! I just threw everything together and let it sit for about 30 minutes before dinner. I made it mostly because I didn't have all the fancy schmancy stuff in other similar recipes, and would make it again even if I did have that other stuff. We didn't even use the peanuts or mint, and thought is was really yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I think next time I'll omit the cilantro as it was strong and seemed to distract from the other flavors. Liked the mint in it, though. I had a similar dish in a Thai restaraunt and it contained shredded carrot which gave it some extra color. I used 3 cukes in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by srt8mommy
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Amazing! Although the recipe makes way too much food to be used as a side dish. 2lbs equaled about 8 large cucumbers for me. even in my family of my father, husband & two teenage boys who loved it couldnt finish it after two nights. will cut in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srt8mommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Amazing! I used 2 medium cucumbers, substituted a yellow onion, one serrano pepper, added 1/2 a sweet orange pepper, 1/2 cup of fresh chopped cilantro, and 2 T sugar. Absolutely incredible flavor that became more and more delicious each day. My only warning: if you don't like the taste of rice vinegar or ginger, stay far away from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was great. I subbed agave nectar for the sugar, and added a diced jalapeno. Everyone really loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Very authentic! I modified it for my taste; used 1/4 cup sugar, increased the vinegar, 2 tbsp of fish sauce, thinly sliced jalapenos, and basil. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I used rice wine vinegar instead and left out tomatoes (hubby dislikes) and it was absolutely de-lish! Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali Imel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Coarsegold, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Very good..big hit. did not have peanuts, so added 1/2 teaspoon of peanut butter to the vinegar dressing and then tossed it with the cucumbers/onions/tomatoes. Made this as an accompaniment to Thai yellow curry, vege stir fry, tom yum soup and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was nice and refreshing! I subbed shallot for onion (I prefer the milder flavor), raw cashews for peanuts, and agave for sugar. The mint is a must--it adds that extra bit of flavor. This went beautifully with Pad Thai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States