Asian Cucumber Thai Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This was great, I had plenty of cucumbers,tomatoes, and red onion fresh from my garden so I tried this recipe. I did substitute red wine vinegar for the white distilled (I didn't have white distilled). Next time I think I may try a tablespoon or two of fish sauce also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Really great recipe and really easy! I just threw everything together and let it sit for about 30 minutes before dinner. I made it mostly because I didn't have all the fancy schmancy stuff in other similar recipes, and would make it again even if I did have that other stuff. We didn't even use the peanuts or mint, and thought is was really yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I think next time I'll omit the cilantro as it was strong and seemed to distract from the other flavors. Liked the mint in it, though. I had a similar dish in a Thai restaraunt and it contained shredded carrot which gave it some extra color. I used 3 cukes in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by srt8mommy
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Amazing! Although the recipe makes way too much food to be used as a side dish. 2lbs equaled about 8 large cucumbers for me. even in my family of my father, husband & two teenage boys who loved it couldnt finish it after two nights. will cut in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srt8mommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Amazing! I used 2 medium cucumbers, substituted a yellow onion, one serrano pepper, added 1/2 a sweet orange pepper, 1/2 cup of fresh chopped cilantro, and 2 T sugar. Absolutely incredible flavor that became more and more delicious each day. My only warning: if you don't like the taste of rice vinegar or ginger, stay far away from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was great. I subbed agave nectar for the sugar, and added a diced jalapeno. Everyone really loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Very authentic! I modified it for my taste; used 1/4 cup sugar, increased the vinegar, 2 tbsp of fish sauce, thinly sliced jalapenos, and basil. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I used rice wine vinegar instead and left out tomatoes (hubby dislikes) and it was absolutely de-lish! Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali Imel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Coarsegold, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Very good..big hit. did not have peanuts, so added 1/2 teaspoon of peanut butter to the vinegar dressing and then tossed it with the cucumbers/onions/tomatoes. Made this as an accompaniment to Thai yellow curry, vege stir fry, tom yum soup and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was nice and refreshing! I subbed shallot for onion (I prefer the milder flavor), raw cashews for peanuts, and agave for sugar. The mint is a must--it adds that extra bit of flavor. This went beautifully with Pad Thai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States