Asian Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I'm rating this recipe 5 stars because I left out the 4 chile peppers because if the kidlets. With this modification, the kids loved it but I will definitely use the red chile peppers next time. Maybe start with 1 and gradually increase every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Enjoyable dish I added sliced cherry tomatoes, match stick carrots , dried crushed red peppers 1/2 teaspoon, 1/2 of garlic crushed or less than recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
LOVE THIS! Tastes just like the cucumber salad I like from a local sushi restaurant. To add protein, I added some steamed snow crab to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Great recipe, but salt to taste. Start with 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTeresa

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Delicious salad. I used a mandolin but I think this made the slices to thin and kind of wimpy so next time I'll be slicing thinker. I added red onion which I think really made the dish both asthetically pleasing and yummy. I soaked the onions in the vinegar for a bit to kill of some of the harsh onion flavor which sometimes overtakes a dish when using uncooked onion. Just left it sitting in the vinegar while I cut up the ginger and allowed the cucumbers to dehydrate. I also just added a sprinkling of crushed red peppers (why take a trip to the store when I had everything else! lol) instead of red chilis. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celia Garcia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Excellent! I did not have rice vinegar, so I used sushi vinegar (which is just rice vinegar with salt and sugar) and just nixed the sugar, with salt to taste. It's fantastic by itself, but I love it served over cold leftover sushi rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I made this dish and served it with the Honey ginger grilled salmon as another person had suggested. The only change I made to this was to add spring onions. It is a fabulous dish. My entire family loved it! We had no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari1751

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Very good! I added red onion. The red chili pepper was sweet and didn't add much spice so I added a TBS of Sambal (ground red chili pepper/very spicy). Maybe if you want it spicy add Thai red chili peppers instead.. This recipe is so fresh and a great side dish or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I was looking for a salad that used primarily cucumbers since I have an abundance in my garden. I made this before work so I didn't have the hour to salt and let the cukes sit to drain. I did it for 20 minutes and nothing really happened but the salad was still really good so maybe it's an optional step. I cut the amount of salt and sugar in half and it was still plenty seasoned and sweet for my taste. I didn't have any peppers on hand so I used a carrot which I cut in matchsticks instead. The amount of dressing was a more than needed to cover the veggies but it was good so that was ok. Will definitely be making this again and will try it with the peppers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States