Asian Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Very good! I added red onion. The red chili pepper was sweet and didn't add much spice so I added a TBS of Sambal (ground red chili pepper/very spicy). Maybe if you want it spicy add Thai red chili peppers instead.. This recipe is so fresh and a great side dish or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I was looking for a salad that used primarily cucumbers since I have an abundance in my garden. I made this before work so I didn't have the hour to salt and let the cukes sit to drain. I did it for 20 minutes and nothing really happened but the salad was still really good so maybe it's an optional step. I cut the amount of salt and sugar in half and it was still plenty seasoned and sweet for my taste. I didn't have any peppers on hand so I used a carrot which I cut in matchsticks instead. The amount of dressing was a more than needed to cover the veggies but it was good so that was ok. Will definitely be making this again and will try it with the peppers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
very good recipe! I used it with cucumbers last night, I will try with cabbage the next time! very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Per my taste, made as is = 4 stars. Made with the few changes others recommended and per my families preferences, = 5 stars but this is a great base for light, cool and refreshing summer side salad or we added to Asian chicken salad as an add on ingredient and it really enhanced that recipe. Here's what others suggested...Instead of chili pepper, use 1 tsp. chili oil. Add in red onion and tomatoes to the marinade as it complements the salad if using as side salad. Cut the sugar in half unless you like it REALLY sweet. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This was ok, but not something I'd make again. Subbed red pepper flakes for thai chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This is yummy. Everybody liked it. Spaced and forgot to put the sesame seeds and pepper in and it was still great. Bet it would be even better if I added the other ingredients. Only made half of the dressing and it was still too much for the amount of cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
i've made this many times and its the best! tastes very authentic to what i've had in japanese restaurants. if i don't have ginger or garlic or sugar i use the powdered kind and honey and its still good. very vital that you use seasoned rice wine vinegar and that you let the cucs drain and rinse! once i forgot to rinse and the recipe was still good but tasted more like pickles/garnish than a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boxsquat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Great alternative to typical cucumber salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This has become a staple in my house! I have tried variations of this dressing for cabbage and it is wonderful. I omit the sugar every time and use a pineapple vinegar. Also, red pepper flakes are good instead of chili peppers. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Really good! I halved the recipe & used 1 cucumber. I think half the dressing would be plenty for 2 cucs as well. Yummy! I have already made this twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LT511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States