Asian Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Great recipe, but salt to taste. Start with 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Delicious salad. I used a mandolin but I think this made the slices to thin and kind of wimpy so next time I'll be slicing thinker. I added red onion which I think really made the dish both asthetically pleasing and yummy. I soaked the onions in the vinegar for a bit to kill of some of the harsh onion flavor which sometimes overtakes a dish when using uncooked onion. Just left it sitting in the vinegar while I cut up the ginger and allowed the cucumbers to dehydrate. I also just added a sprinkling of crushed red peppers (why take a trip to the store when I had everything else! lol) instead of red chilis. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Excellent! I did not have rice vinegar, so I used sushi vinegar (which is just rice vinegar with salt and sugar) and just nixed the sugar, with salt to taste. It's fantastic by itself, but I love it served over cold leftover sushi rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I made this dish and served it with the Honey ginger grilled salmon as another person had suggested. The only change I made to this was to add spring onions. It is a fabulous dish. My entire family loved it! We had no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari1751

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Very good! I added red onion. The red chili pepper was sweet and didn't add much spice so I added a TBS of Sambal (ground red chili pepper/very spicy). Maybe if you want it spicy add Thai red chili peppers instead.. This recipe is so fresh and a great side dish or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I was looking for a salad that used primarily cucumbers since I have an abundance in my garden. I made this before work so I didn't have the hour to salt and let the cukes sit to drain. I did it for 20 minutes and nothing really happened but the salad was still really good so maybe it's an optional step. I cut the amount of salt and sugar in half and it was still plenty seasoned and sweet for my taste. I didn't have any peppers on hand so I used a carrot which I cut in matchsticks instead. The amount of dressing was a more than needed to cover the veggies but it was good so that was ok. Will definitely be making this again and will try it with the peppers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
very good recipe! I used it with cucumbers last night, I will try with cabbage the next time! very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Per my taste, made as is = 4 stars. Made with the few changes others recommended and per my families preferences, = 5 stars but this is a great base for light, cool and refreshing summer side salad or we added to Asian chicken salad as an add on ingredient and it really enhanced that recipe. Here's what others suggested...Instead of chili pepper, use 1 tsp. chili oil. Add in red onion and tomatoes to the marinade as it complements the salad if using as side salad. Cut the sugar in half unless you like it REALLY sweet. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This was ok, but not something I'd make again. Subbed red pepper flakes for thai chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States