Asian Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
i've made this many times and its the best! tastes very authentic to what i've had in japanese restaurants. if i don't have ginger or garlic or sugar i use the powdered kind and honey and its still good. very vital that you use seasoned rice wine vinegar and that you let the cucs drain and rinse! once i forgot to rinse and the recipe was still good but tasted more like pickles/garnish than a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boxsquat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Great alternative to typical cucumber salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This has become a staple in my house! I have tried variations of this dressing for cabbage and it is wonderful. I omit the sugar every time and use a pineapple vinegar. Also, red pepper flakes are good instead of chili peppers. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Really good! I halved the recipe & used 1 cucumber. I think half the dressing would be plenty for 2 cucs as well. Yummy! I have already made this twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LT511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
substituted apple cider vinegar for the rice vinegar and red pepper flakes for the fresh chile peppers. It was a hit with my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
The flavors in this salad are wonderful. I used red pepper flakes because it was all I had and mine turned out a little too spicy for me. I will have to figure out the right heat level for me. Good recipe, though and really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
These were pretty good. I didn't have any fresh chile peppers so I used cayenne pepper. Next time I will cut the vinegar and sugar in half, they were a little too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I reduced the salad dressing by half and still had quite a bit of it. I added some red onion and was glad i did because it might have been a bit bland without it. The dressing is very good, I did use fresh ginger and garlic and let the salad marinate for about three hours before eating. Served with Honey Ginger Salmon on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Followed directions and it turned out great! Agree that it has plenty of dressing and could probably halve that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I had a cucumber salad at a Thai restaurant and was looking for something similiar to make at home. This was very close. Tasted great. I thought it was better the 2nd day after marinating in the vinegar mixture overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States