Asian Coleslaw Light Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I'm not a big fan of cole slaw AT ALL, but my sister-in-law made this at a barbecue and I had 3rds! Even the kids gobbled it down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Ok....not super tasty like i thought. Better with chrunchy noodles I think..not soggy ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I really loved this coleslaw. The noodles do get soft, but I enjoyed the different textures of the crunchy cabbage and the soft noodles. I didn't have Splenda so I used a Sweet n' Low packet and just sprinkled it, stirred, and tasted until it was sweet enough for my taste. For some reason the grocery store was out of coleslaw mix so I just shredded a small head of cabbage and carrots, and I omitted the sunflower seeds because I didn't have them, but I'm sure they would have added another element of delicious crunch. I think I'll be making this on a weekly basis, we had it with stir fry but it would make a great snacking salad too! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger135

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I like this better with crunchy noodles, either saute them in a little olive oil or just break up without cooking at all. The splenda is a great idea. I have used different flavors of ramen noodles and this works with all of them. Light and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I loved the recipe although I did change a few things. The beef ramah noodles changed to chicken. The sunflower seeds became almonds. The olive oil was vegetable or canola oil and the splenda became sugar. Everone said mine was exceptional and would I bring it to all the parties so I guess it was great either way. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hazard, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
this recipe is fantastic! I would have given it 5 stars, but I made some changes. Don't do anything to the ramen other than break it up and mix it in. Plus I put in almonds and sunflower seeds, which was good, and I increased the sugar, olive oil, and vingar to 4 Tbs. It turned out fantastic and I got a ton of compliments on it. My husband has been talking about it constantly. plus, it's light and a great side to almost any cuisine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Pretty good but I think next time I will add my own spices instead of using the seasoning packet from the noodles. I used the chicken and it gave the dish a slightly weird taste. Adding your own spices should lower the sodium level also and make the dish a little more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I thought this was pretty good. I accidentally dropped half my noodles into sink so could only use half. It was still good, I am thinking maybe you could give it some zip with a chili pepper which I may try next time. Would be great during the summer - awesome crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Quick easy and no heavy dressing - great as a side or a meal! I used Chicken Ramen noodles and warmed in a pan with seeds and onions.I added diced apples (pea-size) and omitted sunflower seed. Instead I used sesame & flax for flavor and color. Serve on a bed of chow mien noodles and WOW, you got Crunch & Flavor! I couldn't wait the 2 hours- I may never get to find out if that enhances the flavor! Too good to wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was pretty good, but my husband didn't care for the sunflower seeds. Maybe try substituting almonds like other reviewers have said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hastings, Michigan, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pickled Ginger Asian Pear Coleslaw

See how to make a great fall and winter coleslaw.

Asian Coleslaw

This coleslaw makes a delicious side dish. The secret? Peanut butter.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States