Asian Coleslaw Light Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Wanted to use what I had on hand, so I shredded a small napa cabbage and added half a bag (about 6 oz) of broccoli slaw mix to the bowl. Otherwise I made it exactly as written. It made a light, cool, & delicious side to our seared sesame tuna steaks. Will definitely make again - thank you! UPDATE: Had about a cup of slaw left over, so put it on a bed of torn fresh spinach with a diced cooked chicken breast for lunch today. Try it, it's delish! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Lys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
A tasty simple side. Always a hit at cookouts and casual gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busy mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Yum! I will make this again. The green onion was a little strong for my taste, so next time I will cut back on the green onions. I followed another reviewers advice and didn't boil the noodles, just broke them up into small pieces and added everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Great recipe. A couple changes: don't boil noodles, just crunch them up and add just prior to serving, toast the sunflower seeds for extra flavor, used canola oil and rice wine vinegar, fresh cilantro adds nice flavor also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lynda
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Wonderful, Toast the ramen noodles and throw in a jalapeno for spice, traded 1 T of olive oil for sesame oil, didn't use the flavoring from the ramen noodles b/c of sodium :( but really was great without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Solid recipe, but I like it better with these changes: 1) Use slivered almonds instead of sunflower nuts 2) Substitute 1-2 Tbs of toasted sesame oil for the olive oil (and use California olive oil, one you try it, you'll never go back to anything else) 3) Don't cook the Ramen. Leave it in the bag and pound it and squeeze it to break it up good, and then add it uncooked. 4) After mixing in the "sauce", let it sit an hour or two in the fridge as directed. But add the ramen noodles just before serving. 5) A little more vinegar and/or a splash or two of Tabasco to give a bit more zing, if you like zing. Or put a bottle of Tabasco on the table to let diners add their own zing as desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I really liked this recipe, but like someone else said I think the noodles should just be broken up and not run under hot water. They don't stay crunchy and I think it is much better with the crunchy texture. I used one packet of stevia for the sugar substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azsniders

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I could have eaten the entire bowl of this. I will be making this delicious, light dish weekly. My family loved it. It was easy and healthy. I might try adding different veggies to change it up, like edamame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I have made this twice in two days. Once for a party we went to and once for us because it was so good! I made it exactly as stated in the recipe for the party. The whole bowl disappeared quickly. I made it for us using Balsamic vinegar instead of cider. Had to sample before dinner....delicious. The only thing I didn't do either time is boil the water for the ramen noodles. Yesterday, after it chilled for a few hours, the crunch was gone. However, we liked the crunch of them, so I am not allowing that long to chill. A very tasty, lighter slaw. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceankath

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Do not need to boil noodles, just crunch up and add all ingredients! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pickled Ginger Asian Pear Coleslaw

See how to make a great fall and winter coleslaw.

Asian Coleslaw

This coleslaw makes a delicious side dish. The secret? Peanut butter.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States