Asian Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS NOT MENTIONED: Being Asian, cooking rice is a skill I guess you're born with because I totally don't see why ANYONE had issues with burning the rice, it being uncooked, soggy, or whatever. I cook rice the same way each time, and it comes out perfect. In saucepan, combine rice, coconut milk, water, sugar & salt. Basically the liquids should reach the area RIGHT BEFORE your cuticle (middle of the white semi-circle on your finger nail but not reaching your cuticle). This is also assuming you've got the rice in the pot leveled, and the tip of your index finger is touching the top of the rice NOT the bottom of the pan. This is at least how I was raised to always know how much water to put in rice for it to always come out right. Bring to boil then simmer covered for 20 min. You cook until rice is tender. After 20 minutes, if there is still liquid or a bit soggy, I turn up the heat a tad, cover, and cook until absorbed and fluffy. It's not rocket science! Always works! Nothing difficult! Then mix in almonds accents (found in salad section, basically a bag of seasoned almonds to top salads) which adds the right amount of flavor to accompany the coconut taste. BTW, my husband was not a big fan of this. I was, but I LOVE rice and the coconut flavor. We ate it with some japanese wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
528 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I'll admit, when I first tasted this I was disappointed - it was very bland. I think it smelled so good while it was cooking (honestly, it smelled like I was baking coconut cookies) that the mild, subtle flavor was almost a let-down. HOWEVER, as stated in some of the other reviews, this is supposed to be a dish that compliments other Asian cuisine, and in that respect it is a 5-star recipe. Serve this with something spicy (I made it with Easy Chicken Satay and Baked Pork - minus the pork - Spring Rolls from this site) and it is perfection! My guests raved about the rice and I ended up appreciating it more when accompanied by something spicy. I used light coconut milk, and almost made a big mistake by bringing to a boil over HIGH heat (started to burn!) instead of medium heat, but caught it just in time. My rice cooked in about 10 minutes. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Tina C.
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I realize that this recipe is supposed to have a very subtle coconut flavor, but I was looking for a real bang for my buck since I was serving this with my Polynesian themed dinner, so for extra flavor I stirred in a few drops of coconut extract and a handful of sweetened shredded coconut. With that it came out perfect- exactly what I was looking for. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Parrish, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Rice Cooker! I mixed the 1 can coconut milk, 1/4 cup water, 1 teaspoon sugar, salt together, then put 2 cups of rice in my rice cooker, poored the coconut milk on top of the rice, mixed it in the rice cooker, then added 3/4 cup water ON TOP of the rice because you need water on top of the rice in order for it to cook right! It was great!!!!!!!!! I changed the recipe just a bit to make it cook in the rice cooker, it was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Tasty, pretty and fragrant, this is a beautiful Asian method of preparing basic rice. It must just be that our taste buds are unfamiliar with this combination of flavors that made this unappealing for us...purely a subjective thing. I do think, however, that even in a general sense this would be much improved without the sugar. As a rescue for the leftovers, a coconut rice pudding would have been fantastic. Unfortunately, hubs is not a fan of rice pudding, so the remaining rice went down the disposal. I did appreciate introducing something different to our palates, so no regrets in trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I was curious about this recipe and decided to try it one night with some pineapple and apricot chicken. My family loved it! This is the only rice they want to eat now. We have a lot of stir fry with vegetables and chicken, and if I don't make this rice, I get in trouble. The only thing I will say is that I have never had to cook this rice for 18-20 minutes. I start checking mine at 10 minutes, and it almost burns at 12 minutes. Great alternative to plain white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
A lot of people said their rice didn't cook and I think it is water in their area, I noticed my rice recipes didn't work well in Washington, but always turned out in Arizona. Here's what I did to make this recipe:. Add one tsp. olive oil to a small pan with a tight fitting lid. Heat oil and then add the rice, stir often for two to three minutes then add the sugar,water and coconut milk (I reduced the water by 1/4 cup, the liquid should be about 1 inch above the rice) bring to a boil, reduce heat to low and cover for 20 minutes. Perfect rice every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I was surprised by this recipe...I was expecting a very strong coconut flavor and was a little disappointed to find out that it was so mild that it if someone else had made it, I would never have guessed that it had coconut in it. I used light coconut milk, so maybe that was it. HOWEVER, the thing that surprised me was that even though it wasn't very strong, my husband and I couldn't stop eating it! It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Loved the aroma of the Jasmine and coconut combination. I doubled this recipe b/c I knew it wasn't going to be enough for our Sunday dinner/lunch next day menu... I will triple the recipe next time :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CocineraLatina7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This recipe is great. We have tried several others and they don't come out very well. Use lite coconut milk for a lighter recipe , we like it best this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 414) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States