Asian Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I have made this rice several times. Love it. I usually chop up some chives or green onions to sprinkle on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
So good! I made this with spicy green bean and broccoli stir fry, and maple soy salmon!! It was my boyfriends favorite meal i have made yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Extremely easy to make, very subtle taste and a great accompaniment to any type of Polynesian meal! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I've made this recipe, and also had some problems, but it's not with the recipe, it was with the rice. I'm on a fixed income so have been buying my rice from one of those discount, bag your own groceries, stores. I've discovered that the rice they sell is more adapted to risotto. It doesn't say it's Arborio, but that's how it needs to be cooked. It took me a few times to realize what I was dealing with. I followed this recipe exactly as written, but only had 1 can of coconut milk, so at the end of the stated cooking time had to add more water, and have had to repeat that, 3 times so far. I will not eat either my rice or pasta 'al dente', I like it 'cooked'. Needless to say, there was no coconut flavor left at all. This scenario may be the reason other people have had problems. Sooo, to 'chef Joy' there may be extenuating circumstances as to why some people have had problems. Needless to say, I'll go back to buying 'regular long grain rice' at my more expensive supermarket, but will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleport, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I made this as written today as an accompaniment to Aminah Rahman's Chickpea Curry, and it wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. The rice cooked just fine--those who are having cooking issues need to modify their heat levels, I would guess--but it was bland. I'm fine with the very light coconut flavor, but there was something missing, perhaps because I usually cook my rice with butter. Next time I'll probably try sauteing the rice in a little coconut oil first; normally I do this with butter, and it adds a lovely depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NMHeckel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
The directions are just right. The rice was fluffy and fully cooked. I made it without the sugar and, for us, it was perfect! As someone else noted, it's far more fragrant while cooking than the resulting subtle flavor but that's appropriate for a side dish (not a dessert). I can't wait to try it with Indian entrees. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
So good! Tastes great on it's own or with any Asian or Indian dish. I use medium grain rice for mine, it has a nice sticky texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
The flavour is solid, but I was looking for a more pronounced flavour. Will try some of Tina C's suggestions next time. First time I've done rice stove top in a few years, and I know I'll be doing it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I made this recipe for the first time tonight. It was fantastic. We had it with citrus salmon and orange-cilantro coleslaw. My whole family loved it! It cooked perfectly and was light and fluffy. For those who want more coconut flavor, I accidentally used coconut cream instead of coconut milk. It had a wonderful coconut flavor that might be more pronounced than with just coconut milk. This will definitely be added to the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
WOW!!! If I could give this more stars I would; and I am a coconut hater through and through. I made it exactly as written. I found it had a tendency to stick to the bottom while cooking so I gave it a few stirs and it was fine. Just keep an eye on it. Yes I know lifting the lid while cooking rice is against the rules :-) Wonderful recipe! I will definitely make this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamm Holben-Czarka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States