Asian Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I added a little bit of grated lime peel to the mix before boiling/cooking the rice and it really brought out the coconut flavor and made it truly delightful! What a wonderful, tropical side dish! I paired it with a chicken sate with peanut sauce--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
All I could taste was the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marc Minish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Love this recipe. You can use lite coconut milk but the real thing is so much better. The few calories you save aren't worth using the lite. This is a recipe I have always made minus the sugar. Next time I make I will try with the sugar. To anyone saying it is bland its rice, rice alone is just rice it is the dish you make to go with that makes the meal. I also heat my coconut milk in the microwave for a few seconds just till it is lightly heated. I boil the water then combine the liquids and salt give a little stir to combine then add rice cover and simmer 20 minutes, check to see if liquid has all absorbed fluff and remove from heat and let it set for a minute or so. Also when cooking rice on stove top if you gently turn the pot a quarter turn every 5 to six minutes during cooking it cooks more evenly. Thanks for sharing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This was easy and delicious. I added some lime zest to it, which gave a subtle kick to the smooth coconut flavoring. We will have this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I have made this rice several times. Love it. I usually chop up some chives or green onions to sprinkle on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
So good! I made this with spicy green bean and broccoli stir fry, and maple soy salmon!! It was my boyfriends favorite meal i have made yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Extremely easy to make, very subtle taste and a great accompaniment to any type of Polynesian meal! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I've made this recipe, and also had some problems, but it's not with the recipe, it was with the rice. I'm on a fixed income so have been buying my rice from one of those discount, bag your own groceries, stores. I've discovered that the rice they sell is more adapted to risotto. It doesn't say it's Arborio, but that's how it needs to be cooked. It took me a few times to realize what I was dealing with. I followed this recipe exactly as written, but only had 1 can of coconut milk, so at the end of the stated cooking time had to add more water, and have had to repeat that, 3 times so far. I will not eat either my rice or pasta 'al dente', I like it 'cooked'. Needless to say, there was no coconut flavor left at all. This scenario may be the reason other people have had problems. Sooo, to 'chef Joy' there may be extenuating circumstances as to why some people have had problems. Needless to say, I'll go back to buying 'regular long grain rice' at my more expensive supermarket, but will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleport, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I made this as written today as an accompaniment to Aminah Rahman's Chickpea Curry, and it wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. The rice cooked just fine--those who are having cooking issues need to modify their heat levels, I would guess--but it was bland. I'm fine with the very light coconut flavor, but there was something missing, perhaps because I usually cook my rice with butter. Next time I'll probably try sauteing the rice in a little coconut oil first; normally I do this with butter, and it adds a lovely depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NMHeckel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
The directions are just right. The rice was fluffy and fully cooked. I made it without the sugar and, for us, it was perfect! As someone else noted, it's far more fragrant while cooking than the resulting subtle flavor but that's appropriate for a side dish (not a dessert). I can't wait to try it with Indian entrees. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States