Asian Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This was delicious... did have to make a tweak b/c of it being damp still but not sure what normal is for this dish. I served it with Easy Satay Chicken. I made this rice in my rice maker so I heated up the water and sugar in the microwave to get it the sugar to melt before putting it in the rice maker. I then mixed everything in the rice maker and let it cook - when I opened it up there was still a lot of coconut milk mixture on the top and when I mixed it in, it was a little damper than I expected. Maybe it's because I made it in the rice maker and maybe it was supposed to be that way... I'm not sure. However, I cooked a 1/2 cup more rice like normal (in water) and added it to the mix. This worked fine and it tasted great. Next time I'll try it normal again on the stove and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Disappointed...maybe using a better kind of coconut milk would of helped? It was kind of bland. Not the recipe I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
It was excellent! Tried it on Saturday and now having again on Tuesday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Made it just the way it's written. I can eat the entire pot myself. DELICIOUS!!!! Thank for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
this is the only kind of rice I can make that comes out perfect! Otherwise I stick with minute rice or boil in a bag! LOVE this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Quaker Hill, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Kids wouldn't eat. I didn't taste the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This is a fantastic rice recipe and so easy to make. After reading the reviews I followed the recipe exactly (except for using light coconut milk to cut back on fat) and it turned out great. I accompanied the rice with Hot and Sour Chinese Eggplant (from this site) and the combination was fantastic. Thank you for such a great rice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
The coconut flavor is understated, so if you are looking for something strong this is not for you. Otherwise, the recipe is fantastic. Always a hit at dinner and perfect every time, esp when served with salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
So good, very easy, we did it with grilled Salmon and grilled asparagus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This was perfect to go with our meal of grilled shrimp with mango salsa. My husband does not like coconut...in any fashion...but this was mild enough that he did not even notice and he ate seconds. For those of you expecting more coconut flavor, you may have to 'kick it up a notch' with more coconut perhaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOAPSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States