Asian Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Good rice for a spicy dish like Spicy Orange Zest Beef . If coconut milk isn't available, but coconuts are, make your own. Grate fresh coconut and put in a pot, pour boiling water over it ( 1 C pulp to 1 C water ) . Let it soak for 5 to 10 minutes and strain through cheese cloth. Repeat and combine extracts. The first time will give you something approximating coconut cream, the second more like coconut milk. I find adding the two todether is right for my taste, YMMV.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Sobieski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Fantastic! Served with grilled tilapia w/mango salsa from this site & it was excellent! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Awesome rice. Easy recipe to follow, turns out perfect every time. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PikasWay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
For those of you who get brown or burned bottoms: your heat is too high. I have a gast stove, and even on its lowest flame rice will burn. I have to take a burner stand from an unused burner and put it on TOP of the burner I'm using, to keep it to a low low simmer. Be careful though not to overturn the pot! My rice turns out perfectly. One word of caution regarding Chef Joy's finger method of measuring liquids for rice: that method can only work on the same size saucepan that she's using-which she doesn't mention. If you use a larger or smaller size, the water level will obviously change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This came out really good! I had some toasted bits on the bottom of my pan but the rice didn't burn, which is a good thing! I added a pinch more sugar at the end but otherwise didn't change the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This was simple to make. Had to add another 1/4 cup of water, but easy to make. I loved it, the kids love it. this will be a regular for me. gonna add a little lime zest next time and maybe just a pinch more sugar. good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by canIgrillit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Best rice EVER!! I used my rice cooker and did 4 cups of jasmine rice with 2 cans of coconut milk and 2-1/2 cups water (per rice cooker directions = 1-1/2 cups of liquid per 1 cup of rice). Perfect! Honestly it was the best rice I've ever had. I didn't add anything else except for the rice, water, and coconut milk (full fat) . Sugar & salt are not needed. Can't believe it has any negative reviews...I'd give it a 10 if I could. My whole family was impressed so this will be a regular for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Are we the only ones who thought this tasted like oatmeal w/sugar? Ok. Well, it was good. Very different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This was delicious! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This was amazing...the nicest white rice recipe we have tried. I had to add a little more water after 10 min but I have a new stove & maybe the heat was too high. I stirred in a tbsp of coconut oil just before serving & maybe this enhanced the flavour. I made a pudding out of the left over rice with some dried mango & raisins & even my husband loved it. He doesn't normally like rice pudding. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States