Asian Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
VERY good, but I did do many of the reviewers' suggested modifications - garlic powder, ginger, extra veggies, cutting the oil way down, marinating the chicken and stir fry, etc. That's the only reason why I gave this particular recipe 4 stars. But it was a VERY good starting point. Thank you for sharing Jill!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjsboutique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Add shredded carrotts, cucumber, and some mushrooms and this is 5 stars. I only use sesame seed oil and forget the additional oil in the dressing! A great, quick dinner that four kids and my husband love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
this is my favorite salad recipe on this site. Every time I make this, I can't get enough of it .... I eat it for lunch, or as a light dinner. definitely use the sesame oil, it is the key ingred. in making this salad what it is :))) I usually use asian soup noodles (Ramen, or very thin vermicelli), and I blanch the noodles in hot water for a minute to soften them, then drain them and saute them in a nonstick pan with the green onion and sesame seeds... I cook until lightly crispy/browned. I use a rotisserie chicken, and shred it. I cut down on the oil a tad, and use olive oil instead... I sometimes use slivered almonds, or mandarin oranges, but this salad is just as tasty without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Right on!, Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I added a clove of crushed garlic and ginger, made quite an improvement in the overall taste of the dressing. I also halved the amount of vegetable oil. Amazing dressing! I added shredded carrots, red cabbage, water chestnuts to the salad as well. My husband absolutely loved it! Search is over to the perfect chinese salad recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sandefjord, Vestfold, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I made this last night and it was delicious. I used Salmon instead of chicken, and I omitted the noodles entirely. I added a crunch by throwing in some water chestnuts, bamboo shoots, and sliced almonds which I had sauteed in a bit of oil and soy sauce until the shoots turned golden brown. I also made two batches of dressing, using one to marinate the salmon for half an hour before baking it. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Fantastic dressing recipe-this was my dinner tonight a definite make-again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I made a couple slight adjustments to the dressing... I used just a bit more sugar, and I was out of sesame oil and substituted about a teaspoon and a half of tahini that I had on hand. It worked out great. This is a great basic Asian dressing and I'll definitely be using it frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Oh, wow. This was fantastic...Like some others I used chow mein noodles (my grocery store was out of the rice noodles) but the dressing is the dealbreaker in this recipe. So simple and so very delicious. I would say the sesame oil is NOT optional but that's just me. Used a store-bought rotisserie chicken making this a 10 min meal. It doesn't get any better that that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EileenGray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Lighthouse Point, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I like a previous reviewer, used broken Ramen soup noodles instead of rice ones. I added canned mandarin oranges. To the marinade/dressing I added ground ginger and some black pepper, cut the oil amount in half, kept the sesame oil(!) and used about half to marinate the cooked chicken cubes. I also added sugared almond slices. (1/2 cup sliced almonds and 2 tablespoons sugar cooked on low and stir to coat - keep an eye on 'em). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 446) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States