Asian Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This is awesome! I even had my neighbor's children over, who have lots of likes and dislikes but it was a hit for both adults and 6 children. Try to top that! I didn't have rice vinegar on hand so I just used regular vinegar, a ratio of 2/3 vinegar with 1/2 water to make it milder flavor. Also used romaine, red cabbage, celery, carrots, bell pepper, the chow mein noodles and sliced almonds. Grilled some bonelss chicken thighs with ginger and garlic, then cut up the chicken and threw it all together. My daughter added the touch of eating it all with chop sticks. Couldn't have asked for a better Asian Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Awesome salad! I followed the directions as written, but made extra dressing and marinated the chicken in it for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roslyn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This is one of my all-time fav salad recipes! Super easy to make really tasty. I don't usually add the sesame seeds because I don't always have them in the house. And I always add madarin oranges. It's a great summer salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This was very good, as a starter recipe. But, I *did* make a lot of changes, for it to suit our taste. I give it a 5, because the final product was very tasty, and we will definitely be making this one regularly. Dressing: I added all the sesame oil (mandatory for flavor, I feel). I added only HALF of the vegetable oil called for in the recipe. When I tasted the dressing later, it tasted way too heavy on the oil. I added extra rice vinegar and soy sauce... in particular the additional rice vinegar dramatically improved the dressing. I would say that it is a good idea to cut way down on the vegetable oil, it tastes better and is healthier with less oil. Chicken: I sauteed it, and sprinkled garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper. Salad: I used darker lettuce (romaine & green leaf) since it's healthier than iceberg. I did NOT use any rice noodles--- the salad tasted great without it, and the noodles are unhealthy because they're fried & time-consuming to make. Instead for texture, I added sliced almonds & cashews. I added extra veggies to our salad-- diced carrot, purple cabbage, some green bell pepper, a can of mandarin oranges, and cilantro. I believe the addition of all the flavors, greatly enhanced the taste. Next time, I will try the other reviewers' suggestion of doubling the dressing, and using some of it to marinate the chicken, that sounds tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Nothing really special. Dressing was ok--but the soy sauce just didn't taste right in it. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This was pretty good although I doubled the dressing and tripled the green onions. I also added mandarin oranges and toasted slivered almonds. I told my very picky BF to "free his mind" and try a bite and he ended up having three big bowlfuls! Interestingly enough, we both liked this better without the chicken which is how I will make it from now on. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I'm not really a fan of regular head lettuce since it has little nutritional value (don't get tricked people!). I used only a little head lettuce for cruch, added mixed springs, spinach and watercress. Also added cilantro (must have). Awesome dressing, but salad was too simple to be amazing as-is. I give the recipe 3 stars as-is, 4 stars with adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
We loved this salad. I made it on a hot summer day and it could not have been better. I halved the recipe for the salad and added a couple of cups of broccoli slaw mix and some toasted slivered almonds. I used the canned rice sticks and a few oven toasted won ton wrappers that I happened to have on hand and all of the dressing recipe. It's a light tasting dressing and it needed the extra dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cndysc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
My husband and I absolutely loved this. I added red, yellow and orange peppers sliced very thinly and it was absolutely delicious and had a beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Very good dressing, I also added spinach and other types of lettuce. We had it once with chicken and once without and it is good both ways, Husband said it was one of his favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 448) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States