Asian Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I changed this recipe up quite a bit. I spent about 25 minutes searching for a recipe that used mushroom stock as the base of a soup, before I settled on recreating this using that. I used mushroom stock for the base, made it nice and salty and umami-y. Added some green beans since they were just lying there and looking lonely. Subbed the noodles for lentils Added a healthy serving of red pepper flake Dash of tamari Dash of fish sauce Sauteed chicken briefly with salt, pepper, garlic powder, before throwing in the pot No eggs. Basically, I changed the entire recipe. It had mushrooms, green onions, and chicken still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This was ok...the chicken was bland and my friend didn't like the broth/egg combo..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Very nice dish. A little plain, but enjoyable. I might recommend increasing the amount of broth, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This was a great soup!! Going to make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElanorGLF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This was good after a few minor adjustments. I didn't think it had a ton of flavor so I added in Siracha hot sauce. It made it very spicy but great! I also doubled the chicken broth because otherwise, I thought it didn't have enough of a soup consistency. I added some other veggies as well. After the changes, I thought it was great and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I did change this up quite a bit but am giving it 5 because it would be good as written. I only changed it to give it more substance for my non soup loving hubby. I browned my chicken hunks in seasame oil,black pepper, and season salt. I added snow peas and carrots to the broth and then I garnished with bean sprouts, cilantro, and red bell pepper. The only complaint I have with this soup is that it only said to slice the mushrooms when indded the stems should really have been removed. I had never had shiitake mushrooms and have since learned that the stems are tough and rubbery and I will definitely remove them the next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This dish was a hit with my in-laws! I took several suggestions from other reviews. I added fresh bean sprouts, frozen petite peas, and soy sauce because I prefer hearty soups. The eggs worked very well and had the texture of tofu. Shitake mushrooms are out of season so I substituted with regular medium mushrooms. I even found premade chinese noodles and this cut the cooking time in half. My husband's grandmother asked me for the recipe and she took home a large bowl of leftovers. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Me, my husband and 3 kids LOVE this soup! I have made it several times. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
THX to you! I got 20/20 for my Cooking exam! thxthxthx :) Very tasty dish. Everyone please try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I found it quite plain, and i think the chicken needed more flavour/texture. If i did it again, i would cook the chicken in a wok seperately with fresh ginger, then add it to the soup later. I would also use a couple of teaspoons of dark soya sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States