Asian Chicken Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Awesome salad!!! But please, do not use the 2 tbsp. of butter to toast the nuts & noodles. It is completely unnecessary and simply adds fat and calories. If you have peanut oil, substitute it for the vegetable oil too. It has a more complementary flavor for this recipe. Also, this salad is really good without chicken as well. I served it as a side dish to roasted chicken instead of tossing the chicken in it. I used less of the dressing this way, which cut down on fat and calories too. Overall, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
Very good salad Xing Jin (cool name)! I changed it up a bit but with really good results. Instead of using bok choy, I used a package of pre-shredded cabbage, a handful of bean sprouts in place of the snow peas and slivered almonds instead of the sunflower seeds. I added a splash of sesame oil to the dressing for extra flavor. The dressing was really good. I only used 1/4 cup of oil and that seemed ample enough. Mine did get a little soggy after sitting a while so I suggest using the dressing over individual servings if you don't plan on eating it all in one sitting. Will pass this one on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2001
WOW! This dish is delish! I needed it to be especially easy and quick, so I used fully cooked rotisserie chicken from my supermarket deli and cut it up while the noodles and nuts were cooking. Instead of a 1/4 Cup sugar, I only used 2 TBS. and it was just right. I also added about a cup of shredded coleslaw. Adding 1/4 Cup each of sesame and peanut oil, instead of 1/2 Cup vegetable oil, made the dressing very authentic. My husband loved it. I'll be making this again. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLYJELLO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
This salad was unique and delicious! I didn't care for the bok choy idea, so I used shredded Nappa cabbage. Eliminated the melted butter and used 1t sesame oil for a more authentic taste. Yum! Thanks Xing Jin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
I just served this salad at a potluck and everyone loved it. I substituted pre-shredded cabbage and carrots which made it faster and slivered almonds for the pine nuts (a little cheaper). It was very crunchy and the dressing made it tangy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
This is a delicious, more "authentic" ramen salad recipe. However, the flavors tend to weaken quickly, and it isn't nearly as tasty the next day. My solution? Eat it all and don't save the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
Soooo Tasty! Uses a combination of napa and bokchoy for the greens and added packaged slivered carrots. Reduced the oil to 1/4 cup for the six serving recipe and toasted the noodles without any butter. Was wonderful and lower in fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Everyone loves this salad! I make it without chicken and it's just as addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLOWER_BABE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
This is soooo good!! My whole family loved it and my friend at work made me trade her lunches when I brought some in (She had Subway). I did use cabbage instead of bok choy, lessened the sugar a little and added a couple splashes of sesame oil for some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
Great recipe! Makes a great lite dinner. Also good for an outdoor get together. THe bok choy was a nice change from a traditional chicken salad using lettuce. I don't even think my husband realized that it was cabbage! I used almonds instead of pine nuts...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States