Asian Carryout Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
I rated this recipe with 5 stars as it is a perfect base recipe. Anyone can take this, play with it and make it suit specific taste preferences. If it is too oily, you have added TOO MUCH SESAME/CANOLA OIL. If it is not spicy enough for you, the ingredients listed are NOT spicy. You need to add red pepper flakes, curry or other spice of your choice to GET IT THAT WAY. Not enough flavor for you? Rummage through your spices and have at it! A nice twist to the hoisin sauce is to use black bean and garlic paste. Throw in a little fish sauce. Play with the veggies. Have FUN with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNYANN1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
Easy. I altered a bit needs color. Added mushrooms, red bell pepper and baby corn. also more chicken and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
After eating this meal (I tried it out on the family this Saturday night 3/24/2001), my husband and I talked about it and decided a variation would be good. This is only a suggestion but, we thought use less ginger (1/2 tbsp would be good), less pasta (probably 4-6 oz), more soy sauce (about 1 tbsp more), more hoisin sauce (about 1 tbsp more), more chicken (I used a 9oz time trimmers box, so I would double that), and add about 1 cup of fresh sliced mushrooms. I'm going to try that variation next shopping trip. Otherwise, thanks so much for sharing this recipe, it's totally awesome! and once you get all the ingredients together...totally easy to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
My family loves this. I use the whole bok choy (not just the leaves). I separate the stalk of the bok choy from the leaves. Cut the stalks up and cook those with the onions (I use lots of onions too). Then add the bok choy leaves at the end like the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
This was really great! The only reason why I didn't give it 5 stars is because I think it needs more vegetables.It is a great base recipe, and if you like more flavor- just add it! I personally like more of a sesame flavor, so I added more sesame seeds. More Bok choy is absolutely necessary! Thank you for the recipe! My husband and I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This is one of my husband and I's favorite, go-to recipes. The flavors are bold, the prep is simple and it has a lot of room to play. We love ginger and always add more. I agree with others that it's low on veggies, so we always add more bok choy, sometimes snap peas, but usually just enjoy its simplicity as is. *Suggestion: slice the chicken into thin, bite-size strips instead of cubing it (helps if meat is slightly frozen). It allows the meat to soak up the sauce better and over a greater surface area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Stunning... however I do find that adding a bit more hoi-sin sauce and soy sauce make the flavour quite a bit stronger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
I love this recipe. I could eat this stuff daily..along with all of the other wonderful recipes on this site. My mother in law makes her own version that I thought was hard to beat until I found this recipe. My thanks to you Christine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
This is really good. However, I used Chinese sausage instead of chicken and I omitted the dry sherry and added more chicken broth since I was using egg noodles. I also used another clove of garlic and added some marinated fried tofu in there and it was terrific! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was fantastic, it really felt like you were eating out! I substituted udon noodles for the pasta and added fresh peppers and mushrooms. You could make this with chicken, beef and or seafood. I am making this again, and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States