Asian Bok Choy Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I had no issue with the raw bok choy as salad greens, and I did add some red bell pepper strips for color. The thing that just didn't work for me was the dressing. All I could taste was olive oil, no "asian" flavor at all, just pretty bland. I ended up adding more soy sauce and a splash of sesame oil for some flavor. I did toast my pine nuts, and I liked them as well as the chow mein noodles as salad toppings, but I doubt I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This is very similar to 3 other recipes, so I combined all 3. I added carrots for crunch, used regular Bok Choy since I didn’t have baby, and also followed another suggestion and added the noodles to each portion because I anticipated leftovers. I added the flavor packet to the soy mix for flavor and poured over the cabbage early to soften it up a bit. Overall it was very good but needed something to give it some oomph, to make it memorable. Perhaps some red pepper flakes or some lemon or lime zest? Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
My company loved this recipe. So did I. Very easy, light and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I think this recipe is a good starting point for a salad like this, but it needs some serious work. To me, bok choy is just better when sauteed or stir fried. I would slightly cook the bok choy with the green onions. I would also toast the pine nuts to give them a better flavor. The dressing needs some more kick, like red pepper flakes and garlic. With some additions, this healthy salad would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This was okay. I wouldn't make it again. I ended up adding store-bought dressing because it was so bland, and the bok choy is tough to chew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
Really didn't enjoy this salad at all. Annette Jensen- Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
Not much flavor. Don't think I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
This salad was great! I substituted garlic sesame sticks for the chow mein noodles, and it was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
Add thinly sliced red peppers for a festive holiday salad. The bright green and red make it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States