Asian Beef with Snow Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I expected this to be a lot better after reading all the reviews. My family was not impressed. The sauce wasn't anything special, it mostly just tasted like soy sauce. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
My husband and I love this recipe. I use a dash of ground ginger and substitute water for rice wine (because I don't have it). I half the meat and peas but keep the measurements for the sauce. Perfect amount for 2 served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WITTZEND1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Good flavor. I doubled the recipe as others suggested. By the time the sauce thickened, the meat and snow peas were over cooked. I would recommend cooking the sauce separately then adding at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
It was passable. The sauce was just okay. I over-cooked the beef and peas because the sauce took forever to thicken. I had to add lots more cornstarch to get it to thicken. I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greencastle, Indiana, USA
Living In: South Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Yup...pretty danged good! I did make a few changes, after reading most of the reviews. 1) I started with about 1/4 c. fine diced onion plus 1/4 c. med. chopped red bell pepper before the garlic/ginger. 2) Didn't have the rice wine so subbed cooking sherry instead - worked fine. 3) Added just a dash of crushed red pepper flake, Chinese five spice, and a dash of bottled teriyaki sauce. 4) I doubled the sauce, adding extra corn starch as I figure it's easier to thin a sauce (with a bit of water) than to stop the train and have to add more thickener. Worked great. Served with homemade fried rice and frozen egg rolls. Winner/winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calumet, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is so flavorful and delicious! To save even more time, you can use Minced Garlic Seasoning instead of actually chopping up garlic, and it tastes just as delicious! We also couldn't find rice wine at our grocery store, so we skipped this, and couldn't even tell anything was missing. We'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Was fast and yummy! You can add any kind do veggies you like! I made it with broccoli, green onions and mushrooms. Then I doubled the sauce. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This was good as written and very adaptable. I prefer to double the sauce, add a little onion and black pepper, and serve it over rice noodles. It's great with a squeeze of fresh lime juice, if eaten with noodles. Very simple sauce, which is great with the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
We loved it! Didn't add rice wine because we didn't have it. I would definitely recommend thickening the sauce before adding it to the meat and veggies. Everything was severely overcooked by the time the sauce thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was a great recipe though I suggest grating the ginger, maybe a garlic press, or putting it through a food processor rather than mincing it because no matter what I couldn't manage to mince it small enough to not keep getting a rather rude surprise every couple bites when I chewed into a piece that had escaped the knife enough to be shockingly strong in my mouth. Other than that this was a fabulous dinner and I think doubling the sauce would be best especially if serving over/with rice, my fiancee and I simply ate the meat and snow peas on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlphaWolfAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 741) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States