Asian Barbequed Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
All I can say is "Wow!". Seeing fish sauce in the ingredients made me wonder, but am I ever glad I tried this. Even though I messed up and marinated for 36 hours cause I got busy elsewhere, this is one of the best, if not the best, marinate for beef I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
This was my first experience with fish sauce. I opened the bottle and all I could think was this must be the nastiest smelling stuff ever made. Don't let that put you off though, because the steak ends up really tasty. I found the ginger and sesame to be the dominate flavors in the steak, but I did every so often get a hint of the fish sauce. I think it is something everyone should try for themselves at least once, but if you are not an adventurous person, this is not the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2001
I didn't have the sesame oil, so I used olive oil. It was absolutely perfect. My husband was very impressed (he thought he was the only one that could make a good marinade).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Janesville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
It was a dream come true! I sliced the 2 pound slab of steak into 6 individual steaks. I used a gallon size freezer bag to marinade it in rather than a dish. I didnt have a bbq grill so I used my toaster oven to broil it (3 pieces at a time). 6 min on one side at 8 minutes on the other (it came out medium well). Does not taste fishy at all. The fish sauce is salty so dont add soy sauce or salt until u taste it first. I used normal sesame oil. It was delicous! "Score" means cut a diagonal slice into the steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
Just made this again for the upteenth time! I have never found another marinade this great. Don't be put off by the fish sauce--it does not taste fishy. It is an amazing taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
This honestly made the best steak that I have ever ever had in my life. I could have eaten the whole two pounds by myself. I highly recommend this...don't tweak anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I used a top sirloin cut to make this, and adjusted the recipe just a bit. I added the juice of half a lime, and then let it sit in the fridge for a few hours. It gives it a slightly tangy taste, and gives it a Thai taste. Very juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
OMG, this was sooooo good! The only change I made was the fish sauce, I just cut it down a bit. Having to much made it to "fish" for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I rated this only 4-stars NOT because I didn't like it, on the contrary. I just thought the way it was written was a little ambiguous. I wasn't sure what type of chili sauce to use. I used Sriracha which is pretty darn hot. This may have contributed to the overall saltiness of the finished product too, not sure. Anyway, marinating the steak overnight (24 hours) produced a slightly too salty, slightly too spicy but overwhelmingly tasty steak! Less marinating could reduce the saltiness and spicyness but I'm afraid it would be at the expense of it's tenderness. As I'm quite happy with it the way it is I don't think I'll chance it :o) Update: I've found that adding 1/4 cup of Thai Sweet Chili Sauce to the marinade then marinating it for 24 hrs produces an excellent finished product. It yields a steak that has a balance of spicy, sweet, and savoury that everyone loves. Caution, my friends let marinate for 48 hours and it got allot hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This was a great marinade. I used porterhouse steaks from Australia and let them marinate for 48 hours - don't know if it was good steak or the marinade, but they were really tender even though my husband overcooked them a bit on the BBQ (few too many beers while cooking!). The flavour was great too and our guests raved about the steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Skirt Steak with Asian BBQ Sauce

See how easy it is to make your own Asian-inspired BBQ sauce.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Miso-Glazed Skirt Steak

See how to make a simple miso glaze for grilled steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States