Asian Avocado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I'm not a huge avocado lover so I mashed up half an avocado, added the full amount of sauce (I did use low sodium but added a pinch of salt to compensate), copied Tunisianswife & hit it w/ a bit of lime zest & ate it w/ cold boiled chicken in a lettuce wrap. I loved the flavor of the ginger w/ the avocado. It was a very nice lunch...thanks Josie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
A fast, simple way to enjoy an avocado with little preparation and only a few ingredients. It is a definite keeper. I used the low sodium soy sauce and loved it. Thanks Josie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Very good as is, even better with a 1/2 teaspoon of sesame oil. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I did this just a little different. I scooped out all of the inside that I could, sort of like a twice baked potato. Then I mixed the garlic, ginger, soy sauce and the avocado together and placed it back into the avocado skin. We enjoyed it and so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick Sacco

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
I Liked this best when mashed together like guacamole; served on a bed of spinach and tomatoes, it was delicious! Low sodium soy sauce worked perfectly in this unusual dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This is excellent. I probably doubled the amount of ginger. If you let the ginger & soy sauce sit together a bit, the flavors really pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
We really enjoyed this, a delicious change to the usual boring, salted avocado. I increased the amount of soy sauce for extra flavour, and left out the ginger as a personal preference. Ate most of this as is, the rest I chopped up and invented a sort of salad with cold ramen noodles and vegetables. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
The trick is to let the sauce sit so that it can absorb the flavors. DH loved this. In fact, he asked me to make the same sauce for some raw tofu today. It;s very versatile. I used Kikkoman soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
any avocado lover would love this recipe! Such a wonderful lunch. I only had low sodium soy, and added just a touch of lime zest on top. Absolutely delish! So nutritious too; full of fiber and the good 'fat'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This was ok. I can see where some may really enjoy the way the asian flavors compliment the buttery avocado. It was different and good, but not having too much experience with fresh ginger, I found it to be a little overwhelming. The salt in the soy was strong too...I added a little olive oil to cut the flavor down. Will probably make again, for a change from the norm...but not my fave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELDUB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Asian Asparagus

A super-simple Asian-inspired marinade makes grilled asparagus special.

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States