Asian-American Slaw With Peanuts and Jalapenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Way too salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Thought I would love this, but didn't really...not sure why. Followed recipe to a T. Just not for me I guess. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Seriously nummy! I had half a cabbage to use and this did the trick. A couple of tweaks...I didn't have lime, just lemon and I prefer cashews over peanuts as suggested by the submitter. I used bragg soy seasoning as it has less sodium and I don't use white sugar in my cooking so I subbed honey. I love salty and spicy. Making this one again next week! Yum!!!! Thx prisci
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This is very good, though I found it to be a bit too salty even using low sodium soy sauce. Next time I'll omit the regular salt. Also, I would just comment that I believe the lime juice is essential. I originally substituted unsweetened orange juice since I was out of limes but it just seemed to be missing something. So I sent hubby to the store and was amazed at the difference two tablespoons of juice could make. Thank you prisci for adding great new salad to my arsenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Lake, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was very good. I substituted the onion for green onion and used blanched salted peanuts instead of dry roasted because that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Tami2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Nice change from a vinegar coleslaw. Only change I made was used green onions instead of a regular onion. I also added an extra jalapeno because I wanted a little more kick. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This recipe is delicious! I substituted coleslaw mix. I only had creamy peanut butter on hand, so I used that. Don't be worried about the amount and consistency of the dressing if it looks like there's not enough or it's kind of thick looking. That is exactly what mine was like and it covered the cabbage perfectly. Excellent mix of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This was absolutely delicious!!! My only change was swapping out 1/2 the cabbage for broccoli slaw and cashews instead of peanuts. I made a big batch and ate on it for 3 days, it held up well in the fridge. Along with the salad, I made the Firecracker Grilled Salmon from this site. Excellent pairing, a favorite meal at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Delicious! I followed the recipe almost exactly EXCEPT I used creamy peanut butter (I didn't have crunchy on hand) and I halved the amount of regular soy sauce used (if it was low-sodium I would have used the entire amount requested). I also used part sesame oil and part olive oil (as the sesame oil was super strong). I took this coleslaw to a beach picnic and received rave reviews! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Good recipe but if you think it's too salty buy the low sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

All about Jalapenos

Meet the pepper that brings the heat to so many delicious dishes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States