Asian-American Slaw With Peanuts and Jalapenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
My husband LOVED this. I did a couple of things differently. I didn't have a Jalapeno so I used Sambal in the dressing for the heat. I also finely minced the ginger and added that to the dressing instead of to the cabbage. To be honest I didn't really measure the peanut butter - just a big scoop, the dressing is nice and thick and clings to the vegetables well. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Followed the recipe very closely, except for using only 1/4 of an onion, I added the ginger and the jalapeno to the dressing, and I used dry roasted, unsalted peanuts (loved the crunch of the peanuts in this). This salad "grew" on me. It starts out OK, but then I found myself going back, and going back. I think next time I will leave out the salt in the dressing. I think this will make the dressing taste a tad sweeter and allow the ginger to come out more. Salt can always be added in later, if desired. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I made this exactly as written. The sauce is a little funky tasting for me, but everyone at the dinner party loved it and one guest asked to take the leftovers home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Really, REALLY yummy! I used a bag of coleslaw mix (yes, I'm lazy), and green onions in place of the regular. Oh, also, I microplaned the ginger, and just combined it in w/ the dressing ingredients. LOVED the different textures and the bit of heat from the jalapeno. Great flavor...I will def be making this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
The flavor was excellent. Don't skimp on the sugar, it needs it. When I first tossed the slaw with the dressing I tasted it and it was out of this world delicious. Then I let it sit for an hour as the recipe called for and ended up with asian slaw soup. It was a sloppy, soggy mess that was not very appetizing. If I make this again and I probably will I will serve it right after I combine everything. UPDATE: I made this again last night and realized what probably went wrong for me. Last time I made this I julienned all the vegies and probably dressed the salad too much. This time I coarsley chopped everything and watched the amount of dressing I used and no more soupy slaw! I even let it sit for about 30 minutes and it was perfect. Tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I only want to eat coleslaw now. Been looking for a tasty vegetable snack. I think this is it. mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is my favorite salad! Love the nuts, the ginger, the spice from jalapenos; it's all a great combo of flavors. I add cilantro before serving it. I have made it without lime juice (I was out and used grapefruit juice) and with jarred ginger (works perfectly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I didn't have jalapeño so I used sambal garlic chili. I also used smooth peanut butter, since that is what I have on hand. A great way to use cabbage and low fat. Oh if you have regular spy sauce, it might get too salty, so add half and then more to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is a super bold tssting coleslaw and welcome change to mayonaise based coleslaw which I think is okay but not great. I followed the recipe as written and it hits all the sweet savory tart and spicy notes that makes you go back for more. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Even though the flavours worked great together, I found it a tad too salty. I think one to two table spoons of soy sauce , less the additional teaspoon of salt would be sufficient .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

All about Jalapenos

Meet the pepper that brings the heat to so many delicious dishes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States