Asiago Toasted Cheese Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2000
I just made this as an appetizer to dinner and my husband and I just loved it. We had just had a similar appetizer at a party and the hostess gave me the recipe but this one was more flavorful. A tip I received was toast one side of the baguette slice and then spread the topping on the reverse side and broil. A delightful appetizer. My husband insisted I send my thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
I loved this recepe and so did eveyone at the party. Everyone asked for the recipe. I added a bunch parmesean and mozarrella cheese to the mix to make a little more gooey. It was great! Just don't walk away from the oven, they toast up pretty fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
A great recipe. I prepared the topping 24 hours before company arrived and all I had to do is pop them in the oven. Everyone raved about this tangy appetitizer. The recipe went home with three of our guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2001
Huge Hit at the party! I made them just before people started to arrive and the smell was incredible and the taste was better. I used an Asiago/Parmesan mix which was great and you can mix the mayo and seasoning and garlic a day or two before you serve too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
This is a great recipe! I made it yesterday for a going away barbeque for my aunt, everyone loved it! I used a small loaf of fresh Italian bread and cut the slices into finger food sized pieces after cooking them. I also lightly pre-toasted the slices, which I think is a must. Next time I might try serving this with a marinara dipping sauce! Thanks Alison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
WOW! These packed a lot of flavor per square bite. We loved them with a full-flavored red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
I must have done something wrong. These came out not as great as I had expected. The mayo completely overpowered the bread and I didn't taste any of the asiago cheese. I am not a big mayo fan, but my husband agreed with me...too much mayo. I will try this again to see if this was my blunder or if this just didn't suit our tastes...all the same. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
Every now and then, usually on a Sunday evening, we have what our kids call a "fun dinner". A fun dinner consists of various appetizers. Last evening we had one of those dinners and this recipe was part of the the menu. I'm pleased to say that these little puffs were a huge hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
These were quite good. It's chilly here in VA and I wanted something warm to go with the Asain Salad I made (also found on this site). My poor hubby had to run to 3 different stores before he could find a baguette. (Everytime it starts to snow...milk, bread and water are the first to go at the grocery store). I didnt' add the additional salt since the Asiago is salty already and next time I might reduce the amount of oregano to 1/2 tsp. since it stood out the most. Even though I don't drink alcohol, I'm sure these would be good with red wine or beer. Thanks for the recipe...and Happy Super Bowl Sunday everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
it was ABSOLUTELY delicious. I had bought some Asiago as a replacement for Parmesan in a Caesar Salad I had just made (only because it was cheaper than the Parmesan) and needed to use up the rest of it for something. I halved the herbs because i was scared of getting too strong of a flavor, and it was still great. Also put a little more of the garlic in, and a bit more mayo to make it more spreadable. They were addictive!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Puffs

These jalapeno and cheese-stuffed wontons are even better than poppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States