Asiago Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
quite tasty, but asiago cheese might be a bit too strong... maybe mix asiago with a mozzarella or maybe a Gouda?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
These hash browns are delicious! Simple to put together and very rich! I followed the recipe and they turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
It was good, but the Asiago cheese didn't make it that much better to be worth the extra expense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I have made this recipe for years only with a few changes: I use cheddar cheese although the Asiago sounds even better, I don't use the heavy cream or paprika, but best of all -- I add chopped green chilies to spice it up. Everybody asks me for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I really wanted to like this because I love hash browns but it was just really bland and dry, no flavor whatsoever. So disappointed :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I like this recipe but I did change it a little. First I combined the grated cheese and chopped onion with the potatoes. I used a 4 cheese grated blend that I get from TJ's that has Asiago cheese in it. Then I mixed the sour cream, heavy cream and butter together before I folded it into the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: San Gabriel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I don't know why this recipe isn't a 5-star recipe, it sure deserves to be! We loved this and this is the only hash brown casserole recipe I will make from now on (who needs cream of chicken soup?)! I did have to lighten up the recipe a bit - I used only 1/4 cup butter, half&half instead of heavy cream, and light sour cream. Instead of white onion, I used a bunch of green onions for color. The only asiago cheese I found at my store was a package of shredded asiago/parmesan blend. It was perfect! The ONLY think wrong with this recipe, as far as I can see, is that it says to season with salt and pepper after it's done baking. I would highly recommend seasoning the mixture before it goes in the oven. I stirred in 1/2 tsp. salt and 1/4 tsp. fresh ground black pepper. They were not bland or greasy at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This was excellent. My frozen hash browns came in a 20 ounce bag, and I didn't measure exactly, but 5 ounces (by weight) of shredded asiago cheese was fine. It lacks color--next time I might add some snipped chives or green onions. Asiago gives it a sophistocated, adult taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I wanted to make this a little more kid friendly so I used cheddar instead of asiago. It turned out wonderful and we ate it for breakfast with scrambled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I thought this recipe was great...made it for a brunch and everyone loved it. I did make some changes, I used a 6 cheese Italian blend (including mozzarella, asiago, parmesan, romano, etc). I also had some fresh thyme and parsley and chopped that up in the mixture before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaclyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States