Asiago Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
I'm not a hash brown fan so it's no surprise I didn't care for this. Husband loves them though, and he wasn't overly impressed either. We thought it was really oily and sloppy. I won't be making this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
Maed this dish to take to a birthday dinner and everyone really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
It was OK. Sour cream gave it an unpleasant sour note and it also curdled during cooking, which didn't look good on a plate. I would've used only heavy cream and butter or even half-and-half to cut on calories and fat. Also after such a long cooking Asiago cheese lost almost all flavor, so it's not really worth spending money on it. I agree that Parmesan/Romano (or even some good sharp cheddar) would work in this dish as well. Asiago could be just sprinkled on top towards the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riga, Riga, Latvia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Delicious! I took this to a Christmas Eve Brunch potluck. Everyone loved it! Definitely a once in a while treat because of all the fattening ingredients, but so worth it, and much more special than the recipes that call for canned cream-of-whatever soup. I sauteed the onions in the butter first for those picky onion-haters and I also put some extra Asiago cheese on top and baked it until it got a little browned and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Delicious recipe!! Very creamy and flavorful. I would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Excellent! This dish is great as is. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Very good, asiago cheese is pricey, but a change was nice. I will probably sautee the onions next time, they were too crispy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Very dry. I highly recommend using much more butter and sour cream. The asiago cheese is very costly. This works just as well with romano and parmasen mixed. If altered, this can be a great recipe, just keep in mind to be a litlle "heavy" on the butter and sour cream. For a quick trick, use chicken stock to add a little more "juice" to this recipe. Its low in carbs, inexpensive, adds flavor, and most likley you have this in your cabinet already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Fantastic. The asiago cheese just made this the best potato dish I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
This was a tasty dish! The only thing I would do different is saute the onions before mixing in with the rest of the ingredients. The crunchiness of the onion didn't mix well with the softer potatoes. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States