Asiago Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
We felt this was a pretty bland recipe even with the addition of asiago cheese flavoring it. I then tried it with the suggestion another reviewer shared... I used onion chip dip instead of the sour cream. It was still on the bland side.. so maybe I'm just not a hash brown casserole person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
We LOVE this recipe. I make it for holidays and dinner parties. It is always a hit and it is always the first item gone on the dinner table. We have tried it for breakfast too. Very tasty! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
The sharpness of the asiago is what makes this - I doubled the amount. However, the amounts of cream and butter make it very heavy, and for some reason the bottoms of these went soggy. I'm not quite sure where I went wrong...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I thought this was a good base recipe. I made quite a few changes since I like a bit more color and flavor in my hash browns. I sauteed the onions in the butter and added chopped red bell pepper and a couple cloves of garlic. I also cut down the amount of cream to less then half. It was pretty good with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
The flavor was good, but I'm a cheese freak so it's pretty hard for me not to like something that has cheese in it anyway! :) I added some FRESH chopped basil, not dried. That was a great flavor boost. There's only one thing I will change next time, because it was somewhat dry to me? Maybe it's me, but I think I will add more cream or sour cream. Other than that, good recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elisa Sue
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
great way to use up the asiago cheese, but I wouldn't go out and buy the cheese specifically for this. Tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This dish has a delicious flavor, but the consistency seemed to be a little greasy and somewhat mushy. To rectify this on my second attempt, I eliminated the butter and heavy cream in favor of a second carton of sour cream, The onions were sauteed before adding to the mixture.And I used raw freshly grated potatoes that I parboiled to reduce the baking time. For a variation, add 1 cup Monterey Jack and 1/2 cup Cheddar in addition to the Asiago.Add 1/2 cup poppy seeds if your family likes them. Sprinkle top with Panko crumbs and bake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
These were just ok. I tried them again but with sharp cheddar shredded cheese and i use french onion dip instead of sour cream and they are fantastic! i make them all the time now i love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
MY HUSBAND LOVED THIS. I FOUND IT TO BE A LITTLE SOUR TASTING, AND TOO PLAIN OF A TASTE FOR THE PRICEY CHEESE. NEXT TIME I WILL ADD OTHER CHEESES,PEPPER,GARLIC, AND WHATEVER ELSE I MIGHT HAVE IN THE FRIDGE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States