Asiago Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
We felt this was a pretty bland recipe even with the addition of asiago cheese flavoring it. I then tried it with the suggestion another reviewer shared... I used onion chip dip instead of the sour cream. It was still on the bland side.. so maybe I'm just not a hash brown casserole person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
We LOVE this recipe. I make it for holidays and dinner parties. It is always a hit and it is always the first item gone on the dinner table. We have tried it for breakfast too. Very tasty! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
The sharpness of the asiago is what makes this - I doubled the amount. However, the amounts of cream and butter make it very heavy, and for some reason the bottoms of these went soggy. I'm not quite sure where I went wrong...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I thought this was a good base recipe. I made quite a few changes since I like a bit more color and flavor in my hash browns. I sauteed the onions in the butter and added chopped red bell pepper and a couple cloves of garlic. I also cut down the amount of cream to less then half. It was pretty good with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
The flavor was good, but I'm a cheese freak so it's pretty hard for me not to like something that has cheese in it anyway! :) I added some FRESH chopped basil, not dried. That was a great flavor boost. There's only one thing I will change next time, because it was somewhat dry to me? Maybe it's me, but I think I will add more cream or sour cream. Other than that, good recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elisa Sue
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
great way to use up the asiago cheese, but I wouldn't go out and buy the cheese specifically for this. Tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This dish has a delicious flavor, but the consistency seemed to be a little greasy and somewhat mushy. To rectify this on my second attempt, I eliminated the butter and heavy cream in favor of a second carton of sour cream, The onions were sauteed before adding to the mixture.And I used raw freshly grated potatoes that I parboiled to reduce the baking time. For a variation, add 1 cup Monterey Jack and 1/2 cup Cheddar in addition to the Asiago.Add 1/2 cup poppy seeds if your family likes them. Sprinkle top with Panko crumbs and bake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
These were just ok. I tried them again but with sharp cheddar shredded cheese and i use french onion dip instead of sour cream and they are fantastic! i make them all the time now i love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
MY HUSBAND LOVED THIS. I FOUND IT TO BE A LITTLE SOUR TASTING, AND TOO PLAIN OF A TASTE FOR THE PRICEY CHEESE. NEXT TIME I WILL ADD OTHER CHEESES,PEPPER,GARLIC, AND WHATEVER ELSE I MIGHT HAVE IN THE FRIDGE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States