Ashley's Chicken Katsu with Tonkatsu Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This chicken was soooo delicious. Very easy to do. I wouldn't change a thing with the chicken, useful tip... cover chicken w/plastic & pound, otherwise it could get rather messy. OH YEAH.... the sauce was a bit much, I would next time cut it in half !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Authentic - just like in the Japanese restaurants. I didn't change a thing - you have to use Panko crumbs to achieve the final results of "Japanese". I served it with Lipton's Asian Style Teriyaki Noodles. Therefore, I had way too much sauce - needed only half to use on the chicken. If I served this with rice I would use the amount called for in the recipe so that I could use some on the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Excellent, realy simple recipe and delightfuly different. I crushed some sliced almonds instead of the Panko bread crumbs, as I could not get hold of them. I halved the sauce, and, as a reviewers here disliked it, I left it off the chicken and put it in a bowl in the middle of the table so everyone could just put a little on their plate and try it first, no fear though, went down a treat, and the bowl was soon empty. Definately make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
YUM! I make this with pork, too, which is what I grew up with. I buy the tonkatsu sauce so I don't have to worry about making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle S11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
This was delicious. Didn't have panko bread crumbs but still tasted great with seasoned breadcrumbs. Can't wait to find panko and taste the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
i used this recipes for some people that came from Japan and the people where thanking me for the great chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
this is a terrific meal! i will definitely recommend it! i didnt do the sauce though...while i was shopping for ingredients i found a ready made sauce-kikomann tonkatsu sauce...really good! very easy and delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dianamtu
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
very easy and tasted just like a restaurant's. Definitely pound thin to ensure even cooking and I just seasoned the chicken thighs with salt and pepper before the flour step. Also the sauce makes way too much and is tart. Here's my recipe for sweeter tonkatsu sauce: 2 tbsp each of ketchup, worcestshire sauce and soy sauce. 1 tbsp hoisin sauce and add about 2 tsp of white sugar to sweeten it up. Boil until sauce thickens and use as a dipping sauce. Overall a lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianamtu

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
very crispy! husband and toddler loved it! i used chicken tenders, stayed juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I make this often and the sauce recipe has way too much worchestershire sauce. I use 1/2c each of sugar, ketchup, and shoyu, then add about 1 1/2T worchestershire sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Katsu

A Japanese style pan-fried chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States