Ashley's Chicken Katsu with Tonkatsu Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by dianamtu
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
very easy and tasted just like a restaurant's. Definitely pound thin to ensure even cooking and I just seasoned the chicken thighs with salt and pepper before the flour step. Also the sauce makes way too much and is tart. Here's my recipe for sweeter tonkatsu sauce: 2 tbsp each of ketchup, worcestshire sauce and soy sauce. 1 tbsp hoisin sauce and add about 2 tsp of white sugar to sweeten it up. Boil until sauce thickens and use as a dipping sauce. Overall a lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianamtu

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
this is a terrific meal! i will definitely recommend it! i didnt do the sauce though...while i was shopping for ingredients i found a ready made sauce-kikomann tonkatsu sauce...really good! very easy and delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
very crispy! husband and toddler loved it! i used chicken tenders, stayed juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Authentic - just like in the Japanese restaurants. I didn't change a thing - you have to use Panko crumbs to achieve the final results of "Japanese". I served it with Lipton's Asian Style Teriyaki Noodles. Therefore, I had way too much sauce - needed only half to use on the chicken. If I served this with rice I would use the amount called for in the recipe so that I could use some on the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
This was delicious. Didn't have panko bread crumbs but still tasted great with seasoned breadcrumbs. Can't wait to find panko and taste the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This chicken was soooo delicious. Very easy to do. I wouldn't change a thing with the chicken, useful tip... cover chicken w/plastic & pound, otherwise it could get rather messy. OH YEAH.... the sauce was a bit much, I would next time cut it in half !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
i used this recipes for some people that came from Japan and the people where thanking me for the great chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Excellent, realy simple recipe and delightfuly different. I crushed some sliced almonds instead of the Panko bread crumbs, as I could not get hold of them. I halved the sauce, and, as a reviewers here disliked it, I left it off the chicken and put it in a bowl in the middle of the table so everyone could just put a little on their plate and try it first, no fear though, went down a treat, and the bowl was soon empty. Definately make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
YUM! I make this with pork, too, which is what I grew up with. I buy the tonkatsu sauce so I don't have to worry about making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle S11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I make this often and the sauce recipe has way too much worchestershire sauce. I use 1/2c each of sugar, ketchup, and shoyu, then add about 1 1/2T worchestershire sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States