Ashley's Chicken Katsu with Tonkatsu Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
The chicken Katsu part of this recipe is fabulous...a definite 5 star. But, as many others have noted, the Tonkatsu sauce was practically inedible. I wonder if the worcester sauce and soy sauce amounts were reversed? Despite the negative reviews, I followed the recipe exactly, tasted it, and agreed whole-heartedly with everyone else. So, I doctored it up a bit: added 2 more tablespoons of soy sauce, 3 tablespoons of hoisin sauce, and put it on the stove to simmer and thicken while I was cooking the chicken. It still wasn't great, but it was pretty good even if it didn't really taste like Tonkatsu sauce. So I'll keep looking for a sauce recipe, but thanks for the wonderful chicken katsu recipe! ETA: I made this again (really, really love this chicken katsu) and tweaked the Tonkatsu sauce recipe and loved it: 1/4 c. ketchup, 1/3 c. soy sauce, 1/4 c. worchester sauce, 1 tbsp hoisin sauce, garlic powder and pepper to taste. Hopefully that will help someone because this chicken katsu is really wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by wifeyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
UPDATE: Ive made this again, and it is crucial that you season the chicken and bread crumbs very well so that the chicken isnt bland, and the tonkatsu sauce needs a lot of tweeking. It is way too tangy with the amount of worshtishere sauce called for, but i decreased it a lot to about only a tbs, and added brown sugar and low sodium soy sauce and the ketchup. But I would recommend getting the Kikkoman Tonkatsu sauce, maybe that tastes better, I'll keep trying to perfect the sauce! ORIGINAL REVIEW-The chicken was very very good, i seasoned it well with salt and pepper, and I love the way the panko crumbs give it such a great crispiness. As far as the tonkatsu sauce, the worshestire sauce overwhelmed it very much, so i started over and put only 2 tbs of Worshteshire and 1/4 of water, with 2 tbs of brown sugar, ketchup and soy sauce as called for, since the tonkatsu sauces Ive had before were more sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dianamtu
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
very easy and tasted just like a restaurant's. Definitely pound thin to ensure even cooking and I just seasoned the chicken thighs with salt and pepper before the flour step. Also the sauce makes way too much and is tart. Here's my recipe for sweeter tonkatsu sauce: 2 tbsp each of ketchup, worcestshire sauce and soy sauce. 1 tbsp hoisin sauce and add about 2 tsp of white sugar to sweeten it up. Boil until sauce thickens and use as a dipping sauce. Overall a lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianamtu

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I made this recipe, and the chicken turned out lovely. I also made the sauce but no one here liked it at all. It was very strong, and probably one of those aquired tastes. The method of cooking the chicken was wonderful though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreeAnn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This chicken was soooo delicious. Very easy to do. I wouldn't change a thing with the chicken, useful tip... cover chicken w/plastic & pound, otherwise it could get rather messy. OH YEAH.... the sauce was a bit much, I would next time cut it in half !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I never tasted Tonkatsu sauce, but I added a splash of Hoisin sauce and fiddled with the ingredient amounts to get it where I liked it! I loved the Panko crumbs, but even though I seasoned the chicken mercilessly, I found these to be incredibly bland in flavor. Husband liked it... but I will most likely search for a different recipe To try next. Thanks, BASKETBALL GIRL... for the starting point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Photo by April
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I love this recipe. It's one of my favorite from this site, especially served with steamed rice and "Japanese Zucchini and Onions."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This chicken was FANTASTIC! I used a shallow pan with oil for frying. The Panko bread crumbs make all the difference. If I had known that years ago I wouldn't have kept substituting normal bread crumbs. I could kick myself. I didn't use the sauce as my 16 year old son is extremely picky about his food. However he said that this chicken was better than the Japanese restuarant. So thank you for sharing as this is going to save me $15.00 a week on his take-out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Dipping sauce was very strong. Used chicken tenders and turned out very good. I will find another sauce to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
Awesome! but i dont know about the sauce~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States