Ashley's Chicken Katsu with Tonkatsu Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Authentic - just like in the Japanese restaurants. I didn't change a thing - you have to use Panko crumbs to achieve the final results of "Japanese". I served it with Lipton's Asian Style Teriyaki Noodles. Therefore, I had way too much sauce - needed only half to use on the chicken. If I served this with rice I would use the amount called for in the recipe so that I could use some on the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
This was delicious. Didn't have panko bread crumbs but still tasted great with seasoned breadcrumbs. Can't wait to find panko and taste the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
This recipe caught my eye because my daughter's name is Ashley. It sounded pretty good anyway so I gave it a try and I'm glad I did because we all really liked it. I cut my chicken into thick strips before breading so each piece would be completely encased. I had never used panko before and I loved the results. The chicken was so crispy and the sauce had a nice tang. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This chicken was soooo delicious. Very easy to do. I wouldn't change a thing with the chicken, useful tip... cover chicken w/plastic & pound, otherwise it could get rather messy. OH YEAH.... the sauce was a bit much, I would next time cut it in half !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
i used this recipes for some people that came from Japan and the people where thanking me for the great chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: May 3, 2005
This was super easy and delicious. I wasn't sure about the sauce at first - I thought it was eye-wateringly tart - but it really does compliment the chicken. However, I do not recommend using it as a dipping sauce - it's way too strong for that, and, instead, should be drizzled sparingly over the chicken. There was way too much of it though - even half the given amount would have been ample for two servings. I used olive oil to shallow fry the chicken. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
Awesome! but i dont know about the sauce~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
chicken was good, sauce was not. make a different dipping sauce for this! or find a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Dipping sauce was very strong. Used chicken tenders and turned out very good. I will find another sauce to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I made this recipe, and the chicken turned out lovely. I also made the sauce but no one here liked it at all. It was very strong, and probably one of those aquired tastes. The method of cooking the chicken was wonderful though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreeAnn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States