Ashley's Chicken Katsu with Tonkatsu Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I put my own spin on the whole thing a little. Since I didn't do it this way I can't give it any higher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Quick and easy to make. The sauce was a bit too tangy for my taste, though. Using sweet and sour sauce for a dip sweetened it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
UPDATE: Ive made this again, and it is crucial that you season the chicken and bread crumbs very well so that the chicken isnt bland, and the tonkatsu sauce needs a lot of tweeking. It is way too tangy with the amount of worshtishere sauce called for, but i decreased it a lot to about only a tbs, and added brown sugar and low sodium soy sauce and the ketchup. But I would recommend getting the Kikkoman Tonkatsu sauce, maybe that tastes better, I'll keep trying to perfect the sauce! ORIGINAL REVIEW-The chicken was very very good, i seasoned it well with salt and pepper, and I love the way the panko crumbs give it such a great crispiness. As far as the tonkatsu sauce, the worshestire sauce overwhelmed it very much, so i started over and put only 2 tbs of Worshteshire and 1/4 of water, with 2 tbs of brown sugar, ketchup and soy sauce as called for, since the tonkatsu sauces Ive had before were more sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Well, my DH and I made this for dinner tonight. On the plus side, we enjoyed the super crispy coating that the panko made. But on the minus side, the chicken was pretty tasteless without the sauce; the breading measurements were WAY off and lastly the sauce was ridiculously gross, don't even waste your time with it (nor should you waste your time with the recipe in the member review). So all in all, the chicken was edible albeit, somewhat flavourless, so we probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
very crispy! husband and toddler loved it! i used chicken tenders, stayed juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Right on the money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bluffton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sapporo, Hokkaido, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I never tasted Tonkatsu sauce, but I added a splash of Hoisin sauce and fiddled with the ingredient amounts to get it where I liked it! I loved the Panko crumbs, but even though I seasoned the chicken mercilessly, I found these to be incredibly bland in flavor. Husband liked it... but I will most likely search for a different recipe To try next. Thanks, BASKETBALL GIRL... for the starting point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Photo by dianamtu
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
very easy and tasted just like a restaurant's. Definitely pound thin to ensure even cooking and I just seasoned the chicken thighs with salt and pepper before the flour step. Also the sauce makes way too much and is tart. Here's my recipe for sweeter tonkatsu sauce: 2 tbsp each of ketchup, worcestshire sauce and soy sauce. 1 tbsp hoisin sauce and add about 2 tsp of white sugar to sweeten it up. Boil until sauce thickens and use as a dipping sauce. Overall a lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianamtu

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
note: this review is only for the sauce: this is very funny because i made sakuragirl1's chicken katsu recipe but used this sauce and didn't read the reviews. the chicken katsu from sakuragirl1 is fantastic but the sauce from this recipe is heinous. make sure you don't make the sauce - it's a waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
The chicken turned out great. Due to other reviewers suggestions, I used a different tonkatsu sauce recipe I found. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States