Ashley's Chicken Katsu with Tonkatsu Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This recipe is really good at least the chicken part. Unfortunately there is something really off with the tonkatsu sauce. I've never had authentic tokatsu sauce but I'm willing to guess that the base of the sauce is ketchup and not worcestershire sauce. So anyways I switched the amount of the soy sauce with the worcestershire sauce. Then I just used the same amount of soy sauce as I did with the worcestershire and it came out fine. You might want to use a little less worcestershire depending if you like it with a little bit of a kick. I would imagine that the authentic recipe has that kick given that it's a little bit reminescent of wasabi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Three Rivers, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I love this recipe. It's one of my favorite from this site, especially served with steamed rice and "Japanese Zucchini and Onions."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Well, it's very easy to make; however, the chicken itself did taste a tad bit plain. Even with the tonkatsu sauce (I didn't use the one in this recipe but rather a store-bought version) it left something "empty". 5 stars nonetheless; I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lamboid Suture

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookingfor7
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Really easy and really good. I used boneless pork in place of the chicken. I also used bottled Tonkatsu sauce. My 7 year old ate 3 of them---they were the size of a chicken breast. Will keep and make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingfor7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Easy and awesome. Made my own sauce consisting of ketchup, mustard, soy, and worstershire. Probably could have used a little brown sugar, but didn't have any. Chicken came out crispy and super juicy inside. Lower heat on the oil would have made it lighter in color, but no biggie. My picky daughter even ate it and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
You can vary this recipe by serving the chicken on top of shredded cabbage. Squeeze lemon on top and drizzle the tonkatsu sauce. I have a Japanese market by my house and there is a brand of ready made tonkatsu called Bulldog, it is really delicious. The tonkatsu, lemon, chicken and raw cabbage flavors blend deliciously. Great during the hot summer months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I make this often and the sauce recipe has way too much worchestershire sauce. I use 1/2c each of sugar, ketchup, and shoyu, then add about 1 1/2T worchestershire sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Made this last night and we loved it but with changes. Seasoned the flour with ground ginger, garlic powder and white pepper. Then whisked the eggs with a lil low sodium soy sauce. And finally added garlic pepper, and very lil salt to the panko crumbs. Great flavor! 3 stars because I feel it was too plain as written. As for the sauce I made my own thing of ketchup, soy sauce, ginger, mirin, and sugar. It was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocks422

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
YUM! I make this with pork, too, which is what I grew up with. I buy the tonkatsu sauce so I don't have to worry about making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle S11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was really easy, and really good. I did as another reviewer suggested and made nuggets instead of strips. The panko coating is much better than normal chicken breading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELSHARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delaplane, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States