Ashley's Chicken Katsu with Tonkatsu Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This recipe is alright as written, but is bland, like most traditional Katsu dishes are. I prefer Shin98's Tonkatsu recipe, but for this one, add powdered ginger, powdered garlic, salt, & pepper to the flour before coating. For heat, use fresh crushed asian peppers. I would avoid making this sauce (just doesn't taste right. I prefer to use the store bought Bull-Dog Vegetable & Fruit Tonkatsu Sauce (can order online if not at your local asian market) instead of making my own which I can't get to taste as good as this. This sauce is the exact same flavor I remember from my years living in Japan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
seriously AMAZING! i lived in Hawaii for 10 years and tasted exactly the same as how they make it there! my boyfriend and his friends LOVED the sauce it is really good over white rice. the sauce is strong but goes really well with the chicken!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This is a Perfect recreation of the L&L's Chicken Kastsu we used to get in Hawaii. I love it. I have been trying to find the sauce recipe for some time, and you hit it just right. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NorCalRN
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I'm not sure if I should even rate this on here, because I only used part of the recipe. But here goes. You do NOT need to season the bread crumbs/flour! The Tonkatsu Sauce is the seasoning and my advice is to just go buy the Kikoman sauce at the store- it is simply amazing! Also, you DON'T NEED TO DEEP FRY this! I used chicken tenders, which require no flattening! I followed the breading directions, placed them on a cookie cooling rack on a cookie sheet and baked for about 20 minutes at 350. They didn't turn out dark golden but were crispy and SO GOOD! I served over white rice with a drizzle of the sauce- AMAZING! Pics will be up soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCalRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Excellent! I lived in Hawaii from 15 to 22 and used to eat this all the time. This tasted exactly like I remembered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat's Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburg, Kansas, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
The recipe was really good! I used curry seasoning, cinnamon, and lemon seasoning (just 2 tablespoons) and it was extremely good. I also fried some rice, eggs, and string beans together and laid the chicken over top with the sauce and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking 4 my man

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
My hubby is from Hawaii and chicken katsu was his fave "plate lunch". I made this recipe for him and he loves it. It is now on our regular dinner menu. It did take me some time to like the sause though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
The chicken is really good. I made my strips a little thicker so they could get really golden without over cooking. I added hot sauce to the eggs, garlic and onion powder, chives and cajun seasoning to both the flour and panko. I cooked these in my cast iron skillet that I filled about half an inch up with vegetable oil. I didn't use the recipe for the sauce instead I used another from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This is such an easy and great-tasting recipe! I make it with pork, too, and a friend who lived in Japan said it is typically served with a side of shredded cabbage in a creamy sauce, so I make a quick version with packaged cole slaw mix (the cabbage/carrot stuff) with some Ranch dressing stirred in. It's a great contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
YUMMY and so easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States