Ashley's Chicken Katsu with Tonkatsu Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
The first time I made this my family fell in love with it. Now every time they see it on the dinner table they cheer. I did use thighs instead of breasts. They are super juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La Tosca Goodwin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is a great recipe, especially if you're partial to Asian (especially Japanese) dishes. Try it with boneless thighs instead of breast. They are juicier and more flavorful (and cheaper!!!). Very nice! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I usually let my katsu marinate in mirin for a few hours before breading and frying. Gives it a much better flavor. Never even need the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwytherin Adelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This has a very different taste. Unfortunately, I wasn't crazy about it. The sauce was atrocious! I also tried it with store bought Tonkatsu sauce and that wasn't much better. Won't make this one again. Served with soba noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This chicken was delicious! I was out of eggs so I dipped in flour then milk then the panko bread crumbs; it worked. The Sauce tasted like plain Worcstershire sauce (ewww) so I diluted it with about 1/2 Cup of Veg. broth; after my alteration my son said the sauce was good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I agreed with the other reviews. The Tonkatsu saue was way too tangy. To even it out I added 1/4 cup brown sugar and left it on the stove on low while I fried the chicken and it turned out great. I also steamed some Jasmine rice. My guests loved it. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TX-Marine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I have only used the tonkatsu sauce from this recipe, I never tried chicken tonkatsu I only make pork but I do love this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I support earlier review of 5 stars for the Chicken, 3 stars for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODSARTIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
5 stars for the Chicken Katsu. 3 stars for the sauce. After tasting the sauce with the chicken, I tried "Tonkatsu / Katsu Sauce" which tasted good. Then I tasted the chicken with "Wasabi Mayonnaise Sauce" and it tasted even better. Finally, I added "Tonkatsu / Katsu Sauce" and "Wasabi Mayonnaise Sauce" and it tasted great. Served with Sesame Noodles" and "Cucumber Sonomo."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States