Ashley's Chicken Katsu with Tonkatsu Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This dish was AMAZING. My kids loved it, and they are tough critics. I took the advice of the other comments and used the ingredients for the sauce at my own discretion. I cut the worcestershire sauce way back and added lots of brown sugar. It was delish and I will definitely make this a regular meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Sorry the sauce is pretty awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
The chicken was nice and crispy and easy to fix. The tonkatsu sauce was ok, iit was like barbecue sauce sort of with a worcestershire taste mostly, but we preferred the thai sweet chile sauce I had on hand instead. i wouldn't fix this sauce again, but the chicken was decent. The dish was rather bland but sometimes plain and simple is just plain good. We ate all of this. I'd fix this again with a little more seasoning on the chicken first and a different sauce. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
My five stars are for the chicken, because I bought the Katsu sauce. The chicken was delicious! My boyfriend is Japanese so Chicken Katsu is a regular dinner when I visit at his parents house. I was a little scared to make this because this is of course what he grew up eating but he thought it was delicious! It was quite simple and the Panko bread crumbs fried really well. The only thing I did was seasoned the chicken before applying flour with garlic powder, and added some to the flower as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I made the Tonkatsu sauce from this recipe and another Chicken Katsu recipe from this site. The sauce had an unusual taste that kind of grew on me. I am not sure that I would make it again. Surprisingly though my 18 year old son liked the sauce. If I do make it again I may use the suggestion of other reviewers and add some brown sugar and maybe a little less Worcestershire sauce. I could taste the Worcestershire sauce a bit too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I love this dish! The chicken came out beautifully and as for the sauce, I had read previous reviews in reference to the sauce and I used 2 tbs of both the Worcestershire and soy sauces, I used a fourth cup of ketchup and added brown sugar instead of the salt and pepper...about a fourth of a cup of brown sugar. I let it simmer on the stove and whisked it. I continued to taste it and adjusted it accordingly (added a little more soy sauce and a splash of water too.) It had a sweet/sour/savory flavor and went great with the chicken and the rice I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I made this for my husband who used to live in Japan. He loved it and said it was very similar to what he ate in Japan. The sauce is different, but I thought it turned out delicious Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I love making Asian dishes and this one did not disappoint me, I loved the Tonkatsu sauce! I used boneless/skinless chicken tenders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
The first time I made this my family fell in love with it. Now every time they see it on the dinner table they cheer. I did use thighs instead of breasts. They are super juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La Tosca Goodwin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States