Ash-e-jow (Iranian/Persian Barley Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This recipe is great! I love the lime/tumeric combo and it tastes like a yellow curry dish I always order at a local restaurant. I added just a pinch of cinnamon and thought this made it taste even better. I also added a couple of small cut, up russet potatoes. This was a cheap meal, but very delicious and filling. Good with sandwiches or just rolls/bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Lime and turmeric with barley- what an intriguing combination! I started with homemade vegetable stock made from peelings... and sauteed the onions, carrots, and turmeric together- with a couple cloves of garlic- before following the rest of the recipe exactly... delicious! What a wonderful use of rather inexpensive ingredients! We'll be eating this regularly from now on- thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tegan Mally
Home Town: South Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Very good soup-- the tartness from the tomato paste and lime juice contrasts well with the creamy sour cream. At first I thought I'd like to cook the carrots for longer but the crunchiness of undercooked carrots is nice with the smooth pearl barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This was AWESOME! I finished it and went back for more, which is unlike me. We used yogurt instead of sour cream, because that's what we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Wow, this was terrific! Will be making this soup again, and often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OStreetGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I don't know much about Persian cuisine but this soup was very good! Sour, creamy, hearty... I'm glad I made a huge pot for myself because I keep getting back for leftovers! Will make again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Added cubed chicken. I recommend using yogurt instead of sour cream. I doubled the amount of yogurt as I like my soup a little sour. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Fantastic! I didn't measure the carrots, barley, or sour cream exactly. I'm pretty sure I added more of them than the recipe called for, but it turned out great and was very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I am a soup fanatic and I am always looking for different soups to add to my repertoire. The only change I made to this soup was using cilantro instead of parsley (I had that on hand). It was very delicious!!! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSCLIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This was delicious! I don't know why I'm surprised - Persian food is always great - but wow! I would absolutely make this again! And it's perfect for a summer dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States