Ash-e-jow (Iranian/Persian Barley Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I am crazy about this soup. LOVE LOVE LOVE it! Some said it kind of had an unusual taste and thats true and thats is what I liked so much. I would say it has an earthy taste. I made the recipe exactly as written except I added saffron as pr other reveiws. It is hearty, healthy, easy to make and delicious what else could you ask for? Next time I am doubling the recipe and will freeze some. It makes a decent sized pot of soup [7 cups when finished]. I also think I will add some chick peas for protein. Thanks so much Autum leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This was super easy and super yummy and super healthy. I substituted olive oil and light sour cream. The fresh parsley really makes a difference in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
For ease of preparation, flavor and food cost, this MUST be a five-star recipe. I shall add that I made this a while ago and just broke some of it out of the freezer. It froze very well. My only warning would be to take care with the turmeric; not only can/will it stain, it can overwhelm other flavors in the dish. I also enjoy stirring a good bit of plain (goats milk) yogurt through it when it's hot and eat with buttered crusty bread. Check out the nutrition stats and add it to your repertoire post-haste! What are you waiting for?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Easy and better tasting than I expected. I made this for my family since my husband wasn't feeling that well and needed something easy on the intestines but filling. It turned out great and even my toddler enjoyed it. Only changes was I added a pinch of saffron and used natural yogurt instead of sour cream. Thanks for the recipe. Additional note - both turmeric and barley are recommended for persons suffering from diarrhea. Could be a coincidence, but this seemed to do the trick. I'll surely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
In an attempt to introduce more grains into my diet, I decided to try cooking with barley. This soup looked interesting and I am curious about Middle Eastern food, so I gave it a shot. I used yogurt instead of sour cream (it was what I had plus I'm trying to cut calories), and I added about a cup of parsley (I didn't have another dish to use it in and didn't want it to go to waste). The flavors are...different - I can't explain it any other way. Although there's a different mix of flavors, it still felt like it was lacking something. I found another recipe for Ash-e-jow, and that one seems more full bodied - it has barley, of course, as well as various beans, lentils, and rice. I think next time I will try that recipe because this one, while good for a such a simple soup, was just lacking. This would be great served with some homemade bread though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye of Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
My family did not care for this soup. We are adventurous and vegetarian, but the citrus with the barley and carrot was awful. My kids still remind me about how bad this was....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Wow! This soup was a big hit. I was a little nervous because it wasn't anywhere near as complicated as other recipes I have seen for ash-e jow... but I was not disappointed! IT has a very unique flavour that you just cant get enough of. Followed the recipe exactly as shown and was rewarded with a fabulous soup. My husband also loved the leftovers as a topping for jacket potato. A definite keeper - i've even added a hard copy of this recipe to my beloved Food of Life cookbook!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
used to eat this soup in teheran in a little resturant just by mehrabad airport, this recipe is very near to the real thing.wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This soup was really great! I think I added a tad too much salt though. Will definitely make this for my Persian friend and see how he likes it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States