Ash-e-jow (Iranian/Persian Barley Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Autumn Leaves
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Sometimes I add chunks of cooked chicken breast to it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Leaves

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I found myself with a bag of barley and nothing to do with it, so went looking for an easy recipe. This soup is fantastic - easy, delicious, healthy and suitable for my vegetarian son (if you sub vegetable broth for the chicken broth). We all loved it and will be serving at a boxing day get together. I halved the recipe, used veggie broth, and used Greek yogurt instead of sour cream. Great recipe! changes other than the broth,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
My fiance is Persian and he loved this -- so much that he ate 3 bowls full! I was out of tomato paste so I pureed diced tomatoes. I also added chunks of lamb and let it simmer in the soup. I broiled buttered bread and made croutons to put in the soup. This was a hit! This is going to be regular in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
EDIT August 2014: I made this again, didn't do anything differently, but liked it much better the second time. Glad I gave it a second chance! :) I wanted to like this... It had been in my recipe for ages before I actually got around to making it. I made it for an Iranian friend, and although we both liked it enough to eat it, it is unfortunately not something that I would make again. The taste was okay, I followed the recipe exactly. In terms of texture, a bit thick, but thinning it out would not have improved it much. I guess it was just kind of monotonous to eat, spoonful after spoonful. Lacked something essential, but I am nevertheless glad that I finally made it. Oh well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Very good! The only changes I made were using vegetable broth instead of chicken and I didn't use the parsley (didn't have any) or serve with lime wedges (I did use the lime in the soup as called for). Next time I think I'll add some peas. My two year old LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyelm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Great flavour - my family loved it! I needed to add an extra 500 mL of chicken stock, but this may be because I added extra carrots and onions. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Very unusual flavor, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackenziegrove

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
What a great soup! I used more tomato paste than the recipe called for and added the zest from my lime in with the juice. I subbed fat free plain yogurt for the sour cream. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Photo by Citrus Punch
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This is so good. I threw everything but the carrots, sour cream and parsley in the slow-cooker and let it go all day on low. It worked nicely. I shredded the carrots when I got home so they would cook faster. The consistency is great, and the lime is perfect in this. I loved it. The only thing I will do differently in the future is leave out the parsley. Either I'll forget about it altogether, or I'll use some cilantro in its place. I had a little before adding the parsley and a little more after adding it- I prefer it without. Thanks for the recipe, Autumn Leaves- this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I am crazy about this soup. LOVE LOVE LOVE it! Some said it kind of had an unusual taste and thats true and thats is what I liked so much. I would say it has an earthy taste. I made the recipe exactly as written except I added saffron as pr other reveiws. It is hearty, healthy, easy to make and delicious what else could you ask for? Next time I am doubling the recipe and will freeze some. It makes a decent sized pot of soup [7 cups when finished]. I also think I will add some chick peas for protein. Thanks so much Autum leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States