Ash-e-jow (Iranian/Persian Barley Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I added 8 oz of diced, grilled turkey tenderloins in order to bulk up the protein, but made no other changes. It was really good, although I could've skipped the extra squeeze of lime on top - it made it overly tart for my tastes. Both my wife and I agreed that I could make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I used 1 tbs turmeric and subbed greek yogurt for sour cream and added the lime at the end of cooking. My family loved this. I am making it again as we speak- at the request of my daughter. She said it's her new favorite soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Amazing! Not what I was expecting, but in a really good way. I wouldn't make this for a non adventurous eater, but anyone with open minded taste buds will LOVE it. My only issue is that I ended up with a texture more like a side dish. Next time I will cool the barley separately and then add it too the broth so that I get a more soupy constancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Wicked good. Used veg stock instead and maybe a bit more turmeric. Legit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Sauce

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I tried this with some trepidation because it seemed to be a lengthy process. I made my stock from scratch because packaged stock is difficult to come by here (Pakistan), and that was really the hardest part. The rest of it is so simple, the flavour at the end surprises you with its complexity. I looked up this recipe to relive fond memories of Iran, and it is an AMAZING recipe that I will keep making for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Loved this. Simple, healthy and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
so delicious! I only used 1/2 onion because I'm not a fan. added the turmeric when I sauteed the onions. the depth of flavour is really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Big hit. My boyfriend is persian and this one passed the "test". I've already made it twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Delicious! I added Kale to have some extra green and it was so good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This soup was very good. It was a little thick, but I'm not a thick soup person. I like broths so I added extra water. Also I had seen several posts about cilantro so I made a bowl with parsley and one with cilantro. Unanimous decision, definitely cilantro. Parsley sort of reminds me of tabouli if it were a soup, the cilantro adds some zest. Only change I would made next time is a little less barley and a little more carrots, and maybe some chicken. Great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Dennington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States