Arugula Salad with Avocado Citrus Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
The dressing was really good. The fresh herbs makes this. I wouldn't bother if I didn't have fresh herbs. Although I read the reviews and added more liquid ( grapefruit juice) to tarten it up as well as to thin it out. It made twice as much dressing as I needed, perhaps with the additional liquid. The salad itself is a good platform to add to. For the future, I will add mandarin orange, and maybe mushroom slices. After allowing the dressing to blend,it is not quite as oniony as it was when first made. I would NOT add more pieces of onion as the picture depicts. Although the color presentation is beautiful. I am a BIG onion lover, so this is saying something. Maybe using shallots if you are just going to serve the dressing rapidly rather than in a few hours like I did. Also, maybe croutons or something to add a little crunch would spiffy up the salad as well. Next time I will use love loaf with a smear of blue or Camembert cheese or crostini as accents Do NOT use the cheap Parmesan that is dry and grated from a green can... that will look terrible and lack flavor. Get a nice hunk of cheese and shave it,don't grate it. Don't even shred it... Overall, This is a recipe that will go into rotation, with a few tweaks.. I will use it as a main course as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Sorry but I followed the dressing recipe to the letter but the end result was inedible. I checked the recipe to see if I had the vinegar amount correct as that was all I could taste. Asked my daughter to try it and she said it was awful.. I don't know what went wrong but this was a pre-brunch disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made this recipe and let me tell you... it is off the charts DE - LIC - IOUS!!! The dressing is soooo tasty with the lime, honey, sea salt, herbs and everything else! It's awesome! Make this as the MAIN DISH! Salads can be dinner too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Easy to make everthing came out like its should but it got mix reviews at the table : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maccordeiro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
The recipe is not bad, but we weren`t impressed with it. The dressing sounded spectacular, but turned out just nothing especial for us. All we could taste was avocado. I added a little more olive oil and the dressing wasn`t very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
The dressing alone gets five stars! The flavor is so complex--slightly sweet, savory, citrusy. I subbed shallot for onion because I prefer the milder flavor, and I'm glad I did, because it was still a dominant flavor. I also used 2T olive oil and 2T water instead of the full 1/4 cup. The texture was like a thin mousse: fluffy, but loose enough to coat the salad nicely. I think you could add water until you get the desired thickness. I liked it better without the Parmesan. This was so easy and so yummy--a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I think I am going to love this. The dressing tastes great; mine turned out pretty thick though. Is that typical for others?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States